We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage next to historic chateau...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage - sleeps 6
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage - sleeps 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Rose Cottage - sleeps 6
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isigny-sur-Mer, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janjohn19...
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage next to historic chateau Monfreville in the best of Normandy countryside”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage in September. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished. Loved the down-filled sofa! The kitchen was well-equipped, there was a laundry room, a lovely patio and beautiful surrounding gardens. We loved ordering our pastries and bread and having them delivered by the bread fairy every morning! It's a great location and was an easy drive to Cherbourg, Bayeux, the landing beaches, and small nearby villages. The market in one coastal village was fantastic! After busy touring days we looked forward to coming back to Rose cottage for a peaceful and relaxing night! Many thanks Zoe and Paul!

Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavisExpl...
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hospitality In Alice's Wonderland”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is the third time we have been to Paul and Zoe's Chateau over the years, twice camping but the first time we took Rose cottage. How amazing, it's all the little touches that make you feel so special - the food basket there when you arrive - the fresh bread and croissants delivered every morning - the BBQ Paul and Zoe cooked for us as we arrived late and weary - the pigs that will "sit" before you feed them it's all geared to make you relax the minute you get there.
The views are amazing, it's the best place to explore the Normandy beaches, the Bayeux tapestry or Mont St Michel. It's a great place - you feel like you're in Wonderland but don't tell everyone or we won't be able to book again next year!!!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply superb!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We ventured to Normandy for some culture, history and sightseeing with our 2 teenagers. All boxes ticked and expectations surpassed. We stayed in Rose Cottage which was perfect in terms of space, comfort and level of equipment. Lovely welcome pack to get us going, but we soon settled into french cottage life....Sadly did not get to meet Paul, but Zoe (and Hector of course!) were welcoming to us all. Monfreville is in a great location, with easy access to D-Day beaches, Bayeux, Mont St Michel to name but a few.
Anyway we are already planning a return visit....which really says it all!! Thank you, thank you

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyddaMedr...
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Met by Paul and then Zoe as we had rented Rose Cottage for a long weekend at the end of the season. Great hosts, informative without being too pushy and the cottages themselves are beautiful, simply and sympathetically restored, soft furnishing for comfort and lovely grounds. An ideal base for our historic WWII exploring and visits to memorials and shopping for food and antiques - we will certainly be coming back,

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMOCI
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The McKinley's are just the best hosts! Rose Cottage is very comfortable and spacious, well equipped with everything you might need. The Chateau grounds are beautiful as are the animals, including the most loveliest dog Hector. The surrounding area is quiet and relaxing and there is plenty to see and do in the area from Cider tasting to the Bayeux Tapestry. The D-Day museums and (beautiful) beaches are within easy reach. This was our second visit and we hope to visit again! C'est Excellent!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing