We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Microwave food”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Ampthill
Description: Once an 18th century coaching inn, The White Hart in Ampthill is situated in the north of the Georgian market town. This historic Grade II listed building, which may date back as far as the 16th Century, continues to be a prominent destination in Ampthill. Features include a wall mural above the bar’s fireplace of the Prince of Wales feathers, created by local artists in 1646, whilst our stylish 1930s dining room was built towards the end of the arts and crafts era. Our Mediterranean-inspired menu is served daily from 8am, and guests can choose from a variety of dishes all freshly prepared in our open kitchen. The provenance and quality of our ingredients is paramount, and our produce is ethically sourced and traceable from field to fork.
Restaurant details
Description: Once an 18th century coaching inn, The White Hart in Ampthill is situated in the north of the Georgian market town. This historic Grade II listed building, which may date back as far as the 16th Century, continues to be a prominent destination in Ampthill. Features include a wall mural above the bar’s fireplace of the Prince of Wales feathers, created by local artists in 1646, whilst our stylish 1930s dining room was built towards the end of the arts and crafts era. Our Mediterranean-inspired menu is served daily from 8am, and guests can choose from a variety of dishes all freshly prepared in our open kitchen. The provenance and quality of our ingredients is paramount, and our produce is ethically sourced and traceable from field to fork.
Reviewed 10 May 2021

Went for a Sunday roast and I've had better microwave meals. The roast is £17 and awful!! Gravy had a film over it, beef was dry and tough. Waited 40 mins to take our order. It's a shame as the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is good

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank Herts221990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2021

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing choice on the menu and the food was excellently prepared. Both the main course and dessert were delicious. Also great that The White Hart is also dog-friendly - a definite plus! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karlab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Went in here on Monday when lockdown eased for an afternoon of drinks

Excellent attentive service and really enjoyed the food which historically could be a bit hit and miss

Really enjoyed the Salt-N-Pepa wings and my burger

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

I have visited the white Hart many times over the few years it has been open. I find the experience most enjoyable when visiting with friends for either drinks in an evening or a catch up over food.
Their service has always been great, but especially during the additional stresses of social distancing. They have done all they can to keep the service we have always enjoyed, and the food has never disappointed.
The drinks can be a bit pricey but worth it

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Hollie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

We had brunch in the White Hart today and couldn’t fault it. Booking online was super quick & easy. The welcome was very friendly and the service was excellent.

The brunch menu is extensive - something for everyone. We both had full English with a couple of tweaks which were no problem. The food was hot and delicious. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank curlywurly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Maulden, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Flitton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.