We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
282
228
98
42
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
282
228
98
42
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sofa cum bed place to stay spacious rooms excellent location pleasant stay yercaud lake camp fire biryani quality of food hill station visit yercaud resort hospitality maintenance luxury dj mr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Okay! So as the subject line mentions, the only positive part of the resort is the location at which its located. Other than this dont expect anything positive at this place!!! Nothing that would add up to an enjoyable holiday experience!!!!

Pros:
Location
- View from premium rooms
- Space provided in each room. Very spacious and ample space for kids to run around inside the rooms as well

Cons:

- Lack of accountability at all levels which reflects in the service provided by the ground level staff viz house keeping, restaurent, camp fire .. u name it n they have a scope of hugggeeeee improvement in thqt area...

- food is pathetic...! Dont evn try n order from the room service menu... coz tgey never have dt dish.. n dont even try n order north indian... they prepare all north indian stuff in a pucca south indian style and gravy is only liquid n nothing else....!!

- All the days that we stayed at this property breakfast n food was really a great disappointment. The resirt served only Idli, Set dosa, Pongal and a sweet dish (one day orange halwa n one day yellow). Alrhough the breakfast menu mentions stuff ranging from alu paratha to bread toast) we could not get any of that any of the days. The toast machine conked off one of the says n even the french toast was unavailable on the last day :(

- There were two electric vehicles to carry the guests to the reception n back. However one was without wheels n the other was always getting charged. Moreover the staff is not at all proactive in doing stuff fast. Hence most of the times we had to climb that huge steep slope to reach the restaurent or the reception area that too with an elderly person (since my friends father was accompanying us)

Room tips:

- Dont take the standard rooms 201 n onwards... since most of them are facing an ongoing construction and there is no view at all except unfinished villas n loads of stones (which might be harmful for your car tyres as well)

- The rooms on the top of the property are better and have a good view.

- The owner, as he claimed, has just taken over the control of this property and stays in one of the rooms inside the resorts.lets hope somthing better happens in the coming months and guests get a good service.

Hmmm.... so thats my experience in the shortest possible write up for all you potential guests out there :)

Happy Holidays!! Hope this helps you in making a decision of the said resort!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank ShitalBhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLDENNESTRESORTS, Owner at The Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,
We are glad to note that you liked our location, spacious room. The issues pointed out by you are taken in right spirit and we are putting in sincere effort to improve it.

Looking forward to see you agian.
Best regards
RK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I stayed in the cottage, that was on the lower side of the property. Since this place is far from the restaurant, one will have to walk up the hill to reach the restaurant.
The view from the room was good and rooms were spacious and well kept.
Pros:
1. Staff was very courteous and helpful. They come to room and serve you fresh tea in the morning :)
2. Clean and spacious rooms
3. Decent view from the rooms
Cons:
1. There were no towels in the room. Luckily we had carried one
2. The staff does speak English but it will difficult to understand what they are trying to tell.

Room tip: When you check in, please check with the reception for the timings of the restaurant.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLDENNESTRESORTS, Owner at The Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,
We are happy to note that you liked our location, spacious rooms and courteous service. The towel was an accidental omission. We appologise for that. We admit that not all of us can communicate in English. Inconvenience is regretted. However, we now have scheduled to impart training to our team in spoken English and guest relationship.
You will find us better next time.

Thanks and regards
RK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I stayed at this hotel during November with family.

About the hotel:-

The hotel is situated close to the famous Grand Palace hotel and is a walking distance from the Lake. However the approach road is really bad and can pose a challenge to the best vehicles and recent rains has done more damage to the roads. Walking to the hotel from the lake is also not very easy as the hotel is at an elevation and senior citizens can find it difficult. The hotel has an amazing view especially from the restaurant and the children’s play area. The entire town had power shut down for days as heavy rains uprooted the poles. The hotel ran on generator and hot water was not available. However the second day the geysers started to work.

Rooms:-
The rooms very clean and well maintained. They are really spacious with coffee maker, microwave and a fridge. The service standards need to improve though the staff are polite and friendly. If possible, ask for the rooms closer to the restaurant.

Restaurant:-
The food is average only and I won’t call it great. Many items in the menu will not be available and it takes a while for you to get your food after you place an order. The breakfast is a buffet and is complimentary. The view from the restaurant is breath-taking and we see the entire valley and partially the Salem town.
The restaurant is situated at an elevation higher than the rooms and the path to it from the room is really steep that even youngsters find it difficult. The have battery operated vehicles that take us up, but when enquired, they told the vehicle are broken down!

Overall, though a nice hotel worth the money, I feel they still can do better if they can fix these minor hiccups.

Room tip: Choose a room that it closer to the restaurant as walking up to the restaurant is a bit difficult especially for the old.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sathyan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLDENNESTRESORTS, Owner at The Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for choosing Golden Nest for your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, and liked our spacious rooms and courteous staff. Your suggestions for improvement are noted. Hope to see you again soon. We assure you a better satisfying stay.

Best regards
rk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

The place is closer to the lake however, the road connecting is very very bad to drive. The facility is situated on a slope and might be difficult for elder people to access. The rooms are very spacious; a front room is available with a sofa set cum bed and chairs-table setup. It also has microwave oven, electric kettle, TV and few bowls, plates and spoons. The bedroom is spacious too with a queen sized bed, TV and dressing table. The cleanliness is good; the only issue being access for elder people. Room service and reception service needs to be improved to have happy customers.

The rooms also have a great view all around from the balconies. The restaurant is on the edge of a cliff, giving a grand view for the valley beneath. The view from the cliff in late evenings and early mornings are mesmerizing. There is an open gym for play area. The food was good.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLDENNESTRESORTS, Owner at The Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Golden Nest. We are very happy to note that you liked our resort. We assure you that our service level will meet your expectation during your next visit.

Best regards
RK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

I have been to so many resorts in india, but golden nest resort is one awesome place to stay with friends and families. We can touch the sky from earth. But it was like we can touch the sky from that resort. It was in the top of the hill. All the rooms were lake facing. Tat awesome chill breeze. Mist passing by near and around you. All the staffs were very nice. Especially GM (Mr. Prabakaran) and FOM ( Mr. Charles) were very kind hearted and excellent service. Food was awesome. Chef Mani and Viji's food was fabulous. Thanks. To all to make my stay a memorable one. Also they gave a surprise celebration for my brothers birthday. It was very nice.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank vickyc676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLDENNESTRESORTS, Owner at The Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Prabakar, Charles, Mani, Viji and all my team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in Golden Nest and for posting this review.
Looking forward to see you again.

Best regards
rk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews