We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Layang Layang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Layang Layang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layang Layang
Reviewed 4 June 2009

If you're a diver, this is a great place to visit. Since we already went to Sipadan in 2006, we decided to visit Layang Layang because we like to see large pelagics. We came in April since April-May is the high season for seeing hammerheads. Did we see them - well, yes, but they were very deep. I stoppped descending at 135 feet, but some of the other divers went down to about 150 ft. to see the school of hammerheads up close. I saw "shadows" of them below me. The coral and variety of fish are amazing and we saw several white tip and grey reef shrks as well as schools of jacks, barracuda, and several dogtooth tuna. "The Point" is the best dive site and the boats go there every morning looking for the hammerheads.

The resort is basic and comfortable. Certainly not luxurious but luxury is not the goal of this trip; the diving is. If I want luxury, I go to Bora Bora or stay at an Aman resort. The rooms have good A/C and are comfortable. However, the resort could do a better job at keeping the rooms cleaner. My main complaints were that the shower was moldy and had no water pressure and the comforters on the bed were all stained. Other than those issues, the resort is great. The food and the service is good. The dive shop is well organized and professional.

I would go back to both Layang Layang and Sipadan again - probably combine them into one trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveLoverLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

Layang Layang, or ’Swallow’s Reef’ in English translation, has some of the most beautiful reefs in the Indo-Pacific area. Layang Layang has breathtaking corals and towering Barrel Sponges. This is due to the dive operator’s “diver-no-touching” strict rules. In additional to its big pelagic mecca (school hammerhead sharks, manta ray and mobula ray galore - I took a picture of 18# in one frame), Fish guru, Dr. Gerald Allen, recorded over 450 species of fishes in a week of diving there. With his additional research work, Dr. Allen has estimated that Layang Layang has over 650 species fish fauna. This is an astonishingly number for a relatively compact area!! The resort and service are top-notched and complementing with great food and beautiful sunsets provide its uniqueness. I long to go back. Stephen Wong, www.stephenwong.com , marine wildlife photojournalist

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saiwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Booked a diving holiday for 4 (all of us are divers) to Malaysia and split between Layang Layang and Sipadan. I have to say that despite being a basic resort, everything was fantastic and well run. Great spread of food, diving totally amazing ( I am planning to return with more in tow!)

The whole set up of the place is as such that everyone is able to mingle around. Very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere.

For those who don't dive, this might just not be the place but for divers, this is heaven! Definately comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zeus697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank nekobass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 720sachies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Layang Layang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layang Layang Island Resort

Address: Layang Layang 88005, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Layang Layang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layang Layang
Price Range: $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Layang Layang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd is an exclusive resort that dominates the Layang Layang island - an oceanic atoll of Spratly Islands situated approximately 300km northwest of Kota Kinabalu in Sabah, Malaysia. Fondly known as "The Jewel of the Borneo Banks", it is truly a diver's paradise. As many as 14 coral reefs have formed here, creating a breathtaking underwater scenery. The dive sites are well known for the intriguing hammerhead sharks and pygmy seahorses among other rare creatures. An hour's flight north of Kota Kinabalu, the island on which Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd nestled lies in 2,000m of ocean and due partly to the depth, this atoll has become famous for sightings of large pelagic species and for wall diving. Layang Layang Island Resort Sdn Bhd is the only resort on the island besides a Royal Malaysia Navy base. The resort, designed to look like the traditional Long House comprises 86 cosy rooms, restaurant and bar, outdoor swimming pool, Dive Center with certified diving instructors and a variety of diving courses among other facilities for modern comforts. Come for the exclusive and intriguing diving experience at this remote destination out of the world, where rare and uncommon underwater creature awaits you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avillion Layang Layang Island Hotel Layang Layang
Layang Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing