We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and pretty location”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Lake to cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lake to cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View from Lake to cottage
Kitchen
Dining
Lakeside walk
Sea Palling Beach
cromer beach
cromer pier
Norwich Cathedral
Norwich Streets
Norwich River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stalham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheLesser...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Quiet and pretty location”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This end terrace cottage in East Ruston is ideal for those looking for peaceful downtime. There's no phone (nearest public phone is miles away), no mobile network and no wifi. And if you want to get about, GPS is advisable (some roadsigns are confusing and some don't exist).
The cottage is clean, the lounge and bedrooms a decent size, but kitchen area and bathroom (not helped by being half black) are small. While generally of good standard there are some things neglected. Extraction fans in kitchen and bathroom don't work. As a 72 year old pensioner, I resented having to get on my knees to secure the back door (the owners know the problem, but seen to prefer to write about it in the info rather than fix it).
The cottage is comfortable enough and the views of the lake (more like a big pond) are pretty. Nice to sit out in the evening with a glass of wine. Kitchen is well enough equipped for everyday cooking.
Didn't meet the owners, but the bloke I spoke to twice on the phone didn't sound very friendly (hint: your visitors like to feel welcome)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita W
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't keep away”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is my 4th stay at Swallowtail Cottage and it never fails to impress me. The cottage is always clean and has everything that you need for a very relaxing holiday and I must say it definitely does not smell of stale smoke. There are so many lovely places to see and visit in the local area or you can just relax and chill out in the cottage, it's the perfect place to unwind.
I only returned home today and I am already trying to arrange my next visit there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace and Quite
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
Hi Anita
It was great to see you and Annette again this year, you certainly brought the weather with you again! Look forward to seeing you next year. Thanks for your great comments.
Regards
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a really lovely setting and was all we had hoped for, peaceful,private, a nice view and with all the facilities we required. The brillant weather was an added bonus and we spent a lot of time on the wonderful Norfolk beaches.
There are many places to visit within a reasonable distance, giving a variety of activities and choices. We enjoyed a few hours in a boat on the broads which are also close.
We felt relaxed, and very chilled after our week and would recommend Swallowtail Cottage to anyone who wants a laid back comfortable break away from the daily stresses and routines. We hope to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: We found it a little difficult to find the cottage at first, it might be easier to look for Ransome Reaches initailly then Swallowtail Cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
HI Wendy

So please you enjoyed your stay at Swallowtail. Hope to see you next year! Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonDavi...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, welcoming - great!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A peaceful week in a lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. The owners were both welcoming and helpful. Good standard of accommodation, very comfortable, clean, well looked after. Admin on the stay was great, too. High recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Hi Simon

Thanks for a great review were so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage, sorry didn't respond before but didn't get a prompt from Holiday Lettings so only just found it. Hope to see you soon Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: As non smokers we did notice the smell of smoke throughout the cottage but it was clearly stated on property details that smoking was permitted inside the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2013
Hi Colin

Thank you so much for your lovely response I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and hope to see you again.

Regards Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing