We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarraleah Power Station Lookout
Tasmania 8 Day - Tour in Circle
139

Book in advance
from
AU$3,695.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Tarraleah Power Station Lookout
from AU$3,695.00
More Info
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
19
25
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
25
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews information panels hydro scheme accommodation history tasmania west
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Check out the lodge and Cafe while your there.
Great halfway stop on the trip from Hobart or Strahan.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The lookout makes a good stop when driving across the state, or a short walk for people staying at Tarraleah. The view is hardly wilderness, as it features the penstocks running down each side of the valley. Still it gives you and idea of the ruggedness of the terrain in which the hydro-electric scheme was built, and the information panels give you the history of the construction.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Rohan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Worth a stop to see the history of the power stations and realise the hardships they had to endure to build these pipelines

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank AdelaideTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Short walk from the village so easaly accesible. Good view over the penstockpipes to the station and river down below. The station itself isn't fully visible, but worth a look when in the village.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We did the walk to the Tarraleah Power Station Lookout a few weeks back and it was very interesting. Easy detour off the highway, easy walk around and seeing the effectiveness of hydro-power is darned cool, more description of the whole operation would be excellent.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews