We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
505
356
202
94
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
356
202
94
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantkids clubleisure centrelovely hotelset menusteam roomhot breakfastboth nightsan overnight stayfamily breakreception areafood was lovelykildare villagefamily roombar foodmy mumhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,156 - 1,161 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed in the Westgrove as part of their 5 Fridays offer. We were on a trip to Mondello park and the hotel is only a 10 minute drive away. Our room was huge and very clean. The pool was also large and I had a treatment in the spa which was lovely and also good value. Clane seems like a nice village, we ate in the evening in a resturant in Clane called Zest, it was superb and only a short walk from the hotel. The hotel resturant was also good, breakfast was plentiful and yummy. I would not hesitate to stay in the Westgrove again, it was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed int his hotel on the sunday of the June bank holiday weekend. Its a bit out of the way but with the price we were paying we didnt mind. The hotel is very nice and the reception staff were pleasant on arrival. The hotel rooms are very badly 'signposted' and it took us a while to find our room. When we eventually found it, the door was held open by a chair and the windows were wide open..strange as usually in hotels all room doors would be closed! We proceeded with caution...and with good reason - obviously someone had been sick in the room the night before, the smell of vomit was awful. I phoned reception and asked to be moved, I offered to come down & collect the key but was told someone would come up and let us into the new room. No apology was offered. We waited 15 minutes in the corridor and were on our way back downstairs when we met a girl with our key, she showed us to our new room, again without apology. When we had setteled into our (thankfully) odour free room we got a phonecall. The lady who rang said the manager "asked her to phone to see if this room was ok". I said that this room was fine..again no apology. We ate in the hotel restaurant which is lovely, staff are very helpful and the food was great. On the way back to our room we noticed a very rowdy crowd in the bar.....they started a singsong at 5am..which went on til 7am, with the grand finale of setting off the fire alarm...disasterous nights sleep-surely if a crowd is this rowdy night staff should be able to control them. On checking out we were not asked how we found our stay, which is pretty standard in most hotels. We though they were perhaps expecting an earful so didnt bother asking us!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irejo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We booked the Westgrove Hotel as a stopover point from Kerry to Dublin with our small child - saw a good rate and it looked nice on the website. Although it was hard to find coming out of Clane, we got there and were very impressed with the hotel. Lovely staff, HUGE room (for just a basic double), and fabulous facilities. Clane seems a strange place to have such a nice hotel, to be honest, but I don't know the details of the area that well! We had dinner in the Oak Bar, which has the same menu as the nice-looking Exchange Restaurant in the same hotel. It took ages for our 18 month old to her kids' meal and I was initially a bit cranky about it, but the staff were so apologetic and gave us a free bottle of wine (v nice wine too) to compensate. We then found a kids' club that was running in the hotel and our daughter was in heaven. Has free wi-fi in the extensive common areas, which was especially great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_gillburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Really enjoyed our second stay at this excellent value quality Hotel. The large double roomed family suite was brilliant and really made the stay relaxing for the kids and us.
Food was to the usual high standards, with the only slight disappointment being the cooked breakfast. Loads of other choices for breakfast, with the poached eggs and porridge more than making up for it. Staff were attentive during all meals with high standards of presentation for children’s meals also.
The kids club is based in a huge room with plenty of toys and facilities. The complementary baking course for the kids was exceptional with nearly 3 hours of fun filled activities that kept them completely engrossed. This food was then served up providing lunch for them also.
We all enjoyed the leisure club but the toddler’s pool area could do with being a bit warmer. The pool itself was clean with good changing facilities for individuals and families.

A very good Hotel close to many areas of interest with excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We checked into this hotel hassle free. Our room was quite large, clean and overlooking the courtyard, however there was no noise at night to disturb our sleep. As this was a gift from my partner I availed of a spa treatment which was excellent. The staff were very professional and the treatment area was relaxing, perfect really! We attended Naas races on Sunday and staff were very helpful organising a taxi to and from. We enjoyed an ample carvery lunch prior to the races which was great value.

We felt overall this hotel has a good location whether a relaxing break or a base for planned activities. Look forward to staying again some time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews