We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Lobby, Small Reception area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We stayed at the Westgrove Hotel in Clane in March. Upon arrival we were greeted in a friendly fashion and checked in. We were directed to our room, which by the way was fantastic! However we noted on the way around the hotel, all of the carpeted areas appeared unclean and could do with a good vaccuming and a wash!!! The room was great, the ensuite bathroom was more than above standard and the service was ....well they seemed busy... We ate in Kirbys Resturaunt, on the night of our stay. The food was delightful and plentiful. Overall our experience was good - but the carpeted area could do with a spring clean!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bobmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,097 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2008

I have to admit, it is a nice hotel. New and mordern, but that is the only good thing about it. The food was not 4 star quality, staff not too polite. My husband and i satyed there for my sisters wedding in february. Even my mother-in law was not too impresed. The only member of staff who showed any form of proffesinalism was the night manager. He was helpfull in everyway he could. I belive his name was Simba ( easy to remember because of Lion king ). Other than that it felt like a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aceon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Went here on a three night break early February with mother and 5 year old daughter and thought it was one of the best if not the best we have been to in Ireland.

Okay first impressions - new hotel, no parking near front door, no porter to help with bags, a bit sterile and I thought "Oh no, not a good choice" but I literally was to eat my words.

Rec - so friendly and helpful on check in. Went to leisure centre for quick swim with daughter and very staff v helpful and whole area v clean.

Dined in restaurant that night - while menu was not that extensive food we ordered was superb and even child's meal fantastic.

Breakfasts - choice of six cereals, six fruits, 4 fruit juices, yogurts (some mornings) - all self service and then whatever hot food you wanted - what more could you ask for!

Rooms - we had a room with a double and single bed and while it could have been bigger we didn't feel cramped at all. A nice touch was that each evening we came back there was three chocolate mints on our pillows - my daughter's fav thing about hotel as she got all three! Bathrooms clean, everything supplied. We had a problem with TV and manager came up 10 minutes after we complained and fixed it. Only complaint was that rooms were a bit hot and stuffy as window in there was small but when we left it open all day room was fine in evening.

No complaints about this hotel and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreedomSaoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The hotel's staff were great, professional and friendly. Rooms (we had Wogan Brown Suite where everything's done through room service!) were very nice, huge shower! The service & food in Kirby's Restaurant were excellent. Breakfast was fine and, if you ask, the kitchen will do you up poached or scambled eggs which are not available in the buffet. The Spa was beautiful and staff here were excellent, note book your appointments early as the Spa is exceptionally busy on weekends.
The pool & gym were nice, again pool very busy at weekends with families as membership is available to people in locality.
I liked the Westgrove Hotel but the small things that really make a hotel four stars were missing, like fancy toiletries and fluffy bath robes in the room. It may sound silly to mention toiletries as a bad point but the hotel's website does specifically state that toiletries in rooms are samples of Elemis products used in the Spa, and I found to my disappointment they are not even close :( Also the walls are paper thin, there wasn't too much activity in January but what little did go on in the wee hours we heard!
Overall I'd recommend the hotel for a cosy weekend away as the staff, Kirby's food and the Spa are exceptional.
Also there's not much to do in Clane but Zest Cafe is a little gem for lunch or a tasty dinner!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KarrieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

I had heard of this hotel but knew nothing else about it until went to a wedding there in December. It was really nice - just a pity we didn't get to spend more time there. the spa looked lovely and there's a good swimming pool. Very good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
10.9 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
8.5 km away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
4.2 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
605 reviews
15.2 km away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
688 reviews
9.7 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range: $129 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing