We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully serene. Relaxation at its finest.”
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Patio with Comfortable Lounge Chairs you can take the Lounge Chairs to the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Patio with Comfortable Lounge Chairs
you can take the Lounge Chairs to the Beach
Fully equipped modern kitchen Kitchen
living & Dining Area
Comfortable Living Room
Looking into the Bedroom
Queen Size Bed
Modern Bathroom with Marble Counter Top
looking west from inside your apartment
Looking out your Door and Outdoor Shower
Looking West
Looking North
Looking South
Where your apartment is at sunset
You will have plenty of opportunities to see monkeys
that's Lola, she lives up the Beach
You could catch one like this right in front
Sunsets at Plumita Pacifica!
Many beautiful sunsets right in front of your apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stephen K
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautifully serene. Relaxation at its finest.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This is a small 1 bedroom located right on the beach. My wife and I loved hearing the sound of the surf, taking walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean. The owner is super friendly and accomodating, and the live-in caretakers are a great family and do a good job. For the price, this place is perfect to get away from it all. Keep in mind, it doesn't have a lot of frills but is perfect if you want to unplug and simply enjoy the beach. By the way, the beach is teeming with life....Crabs, Sand Dollars, Butterflies, birds, etc. Very exciting.

We mostly cooked for ourselves in the kitchen, which is sufficiently stocked with utensils and pans, etc. Need something you don't see, simply ask Gary or the caretakers. There is a market nearby, as well as several good local restaurants. Gary, the owner can fill you in and recommend a shuttle company if you don't want to make the walk. Some places are about half a mile, and others a little further. I almost forgot about the hammock, it's fantastic for afternoon naps. I connected to the WiFi to listen to a ball game and would enjoy a snooze.

My wife and I are already looking at our calendars to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fantastic location, right on the beach. Perfect for swimming and sunsets
Liked least: Small ants but they're everywhere, not just at this location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
Hi Steve & DeDe... thanks for the terrific review!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa N
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
“Beach Paradise is Right!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Awesome location, the beach is literally right outside your front door. Great restaurants within walking distance. Gary and his staff are excellent and helpful, Gary knows the ins & outs of Costa Rica from his first hand experiences. The ticos are very nice and helpful with many speaking English. Plus great surf spots like Playa Negra & Lola's are a short drive away. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon C
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever - Paradise on the Beach”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Gary calls his rental, Plumita Pacifica, a slice of paradise. He's spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed our eight nights of paradise at Plumita Pacifica. The room is very comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen where we made our breakfasts and lunches. The bedroom is nice and the bathroom has a spacious shower. But what makes this place so wonderful is the view - and what a view!! From our room, which had wall-to-wall glass windows and sliding doors, we could the rolling surf and the bright blue sky. Just a few steps from our door we could take long walks on the perfect beach. During the day the palm grove provided welcome shade from the sun, and at night we had the perfect view for watching the sunsets. We even saw the elusive "green flash"!

Plumita Pacifica is a great place to see local wildlife. We saw pelicans, egrets, hawks, magpies, squirrels, lizards, jumping marlin, devil rays, hermit crabs, and land crabs. We also had a surprise visitor - a young howler monkey came within 10 feet of our door one morning! My husband saw manta rays while swimming (but don't try that if you're not an experienced ocean swimmer). We also saw a large group of howler monkeys crossing the road just behind the rental. In fact, we got better monkey photos at Plumita Pacifica than we did on the wildlife tour we took!

We were looking for the perfect place to kick back and relax and we definitely found it. We chose not to rent a car and we didn't regret it. There are a few great restaurants within easy walking distance. There's also a little grocery store where you can get basics for breakfast and lunch just down the road. A larger store is only a mile away (be sure to make that walk in the morning as it gets hot in the afternoon). Local, "tico" restaurants are only a short drive away. If you don't have a car, a local company will drive you for a small fee.

Our stay at Plumita Pacifica was one of our best vacations ever! We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and the price.
Liked least: I got sunburned.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Hi Moon... thank you very much for taking the time to write a review... and such a great one at that! Gary :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin0...
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bargain.”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This vacation rental is a bargain, the property is located right on the beach. The beach is secluded, clean and beautiful. The apartment is clean, comfortable and well appointed. Gary, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. There's a well stocked mini market about a mile away where you'll find just about anything you might want in order to prepare your own meals. Great place to have a relaxing and inexpensive vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSKramer
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What more do you need?!”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed two nights at Plumita Pacifica on our way further south. The rental units (there are two) are well-equipped, with a full kitchen, air conditioning, wifi and a separate bedroom...there is furniture for both inside and outside. The property is beachfront, with a dark sand beach and decent wave action for boogie boards, but surfing is about 200m to the north. There are several decent places to eat within walking distance, and a supermarket within 1km. The best part of Plumita is, however, the owner, who is both a wonderful guide to Costa Rica (and actually wrote one entitled "So You Want to Live in Costa Rica?") and a terrific story-teller...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning sunsets!
Liked least: I prefer white sand beach...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing