We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
455
116
18
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
116
18
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal plan dive tech dive staff shore diving dive shop great dive dive vacation dive master valet diving dive sites on site the cottages grand cayman all inclusive package non divers the wait staff ocean front suite
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I am on my last day of an amazing dive trip with a group of divers. The rooms are big, the resort has an amazing ocean view, the people here at the resort and Reef Divers have been amazing. Great dives, amazing staff, great food with plenty of options, and a super amazing way to dive, eat, and sleep. The diving is warm water no wetsuits, little to no currents, and amazing clarity. Simply awesome dive sites.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

We're very happy that you enjoyed yourselves, Tim H, and thanks you for your visit and taking time to write a review. We've worked hard to upgrade the resort in the 2 years we've owned it, so it's nice to see that our work has had the desired effect. By the end of 2019, all the rooms including bathrooms will have completed a final refresh and update.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Stayed at Cobalt Coast for a short 5 day dive vacation. Looking for an affordable all-inclusive resort on Grand Cayman seemed to be a challenge but we took a risk with Cobalt based on other positive reviews.

We visited during the off-season so high-season experiences may vary but it is a smaller resort with a limited number of rooms so I can't imagine that even if the hotel was fully booked it would still not feel too crowded.

Diving: The Cobalt valet service is such a convenient way to dive. Highly recommended because it takes the "work" out of diving and lets you get on with the fun parts of your vacation. The boat guides and dive masters were both friendly and knowledgeable with an emphasis on safety. Each day they made sure to select sites that were new and exciting and matched to appropriate skill levels of the divers on the boat. Fortunately Grand Cayman has many sites to select from.

Location: This resort is located north of Seven Mile Beach in West Bay. This is an advantage because it keeps you away from the crowds, noise and traffic of the Seven Mile area and since the resort is all-inclusive you really have little need to leave. If you want to go into George Town or any of the restaurants on Seven-Mile, all of this is a short bus or taxi ride away.

Transportation: Cobalt arranged for hotel transfers from the airport. While taxis are quite expensive in Grand Cayman, the local bus is easy to use and you meet lots of fun and friendly locals and fellow travelers. Highly recommended and safe!

Food: The food at Cobalt Coast was very good for an all-inclusive resort. The menu changes daily and provides a range of options depending on tastes and appetite. On several evenings, local residents came to Cobalt Coast for a meal. That says a lot if people who know the local restaurants come here to eat when they have a choice. The bar also has a great menu available with some nice options.

Bar: In the center of the public area sits the bar. Bar drinks are expensive in Grand Cayman but the bar at Cobalt Coast is worth the expense and they have good happy-hour specials. They have a nice selection of beer and mixed drinks - including frozen drinks some crave while on a Caribbean vacation.

Staff: Every single person that I came into contact with at Cobalt Coast was excellent. This might have been a result of visiting during the low season, but friendly customer service that exceeds expectations seems to be the norm here. It would be impossible to name everyone that assisted us during our stay because everyone was fabulous but in particular I would mention Colin in the bar and Genevieve at the front desk were especially great. While staying at Cobalt, my fiance became ill with a skin condition (nothing in any way related to Cobalt Coast). Colin and Genevieve went to great lengths to make sure we got the medical attention needed and took our comfort personally and ensured my finance was able to enjoy her vacation, which we did.

Accommodations: The rooms were fairly basic but clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in was ground-floor and near the restaurant/bar area so early in the evening we had noise but that went quiet fairly quickly and we were able to get a good nights rest without issue. Our room had A/C, lots of hot water, a refrigerator and safe. My only complaint was that the room itself was quite humid even with the A/C running.

Grounds: Cobalt Coast does not have a traditional beach, although they do have a sandy area with lounge chairs. They also have a long dock that guests can use to access the water for snorkeling and shore diving. There is a pool and hot-tub and the decking around the pool area is new and nice with tables and umbrellas. Everything was clean and tidy.

Overall I would recommend Cobalt Coast to anyone looking for an all-inclusive dive resort in Grand Cayman. Yes it is a little bit out the tourist area and yes it does not have some of the amenities that the big resorts have but the combination of friendly staff, good food, a great bar and fabulous diving staff are a winning combination! if I return to Grand Cayman (and I plan to), I doubt I will even think about staying anyplace besides Cobalt Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your visit and your extensive review, Eugene A. We believe you'd have a similar experience regardless of when you visited, because our company's guest-first focus makes sure that all guests feel appreciated and receive personalized service regardless of how busy we are.

Of special note is that you can pre-purchase adult beverage packages with your dive package. You pay in US dollars that include gratuities. The average savings for mixed drinks, wine, and menu cocktails is about 25% over purchasing individually at the resort. If you're a beer drinks, it's a better value to just pay as you consume.

We hope to see you again at this or one of our other dive resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I visited CCBR in September 2018 with my girlfriend and a small group of fellow scuba divers. Stayed for 5 days and did diving with the Reef Divers operator. The hotel staff was wonderful, friendly and attentive. Especially liked Colin the Bartender. The food was amazing; some of the best I have had in an all-inclusive deal. The rooms were nice and clean. Our TV did not seem to work but I did not even bother to get it checked out because the pool/deck and beach seating were amazing! The setting of the hotel is gorgeous with ocean views and both sunset and sunrise were visible from the dock. The dive operator was excellent; large spacious boat and great staff. Oli, Cutis and Lee were superb dive masters and Lee saved the day with a mask strap when my girlfriend's mask strap broke! Having dove many places in the Caribbean I can't say the diving was the best, but the coral reefs had good color and seemed to be healthy. There was not an abundance of sea life but we did see some turtles, eels, nurse sharks and numerous reef fish. Overall we had a great time and loved this resort and its wonderful staff!!

Room Tip: Get a room with pool/water view!!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddmpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your visit and your review, ddmpac! We're happy you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for recognizing some of our fabulous team members. They work hard so it's always great when their efforts are rewarded like this.

We hope you will come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

If you love to dive, this is the place for you! 3 boat dives a day, plus afternoon dives and night dives. Gorgeous location close to many amazing dive sites, Sting Ray City, walls and wrecks galore. Reef Divers Valet diving will spoil you no doubt!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

We've achieved our goal if you had a great vacation, Brenda L. We thank you so much for your visit and for your feedback here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

What a great week we had on the island. Cobalt is on the North shore, interesting ways of getting to the resort, so glad we rented a car to get around. The resort was clean and comfortable, all the staff we encountered were super friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and bar at the pool, had a nice small lunch buffet, dinner was nearly more than I could eat. I was a little disappointed in the drink size for a frozen margarita was like 6 oz and $13. The beach area is nice, but the sand doesn’t extend to the water, it’s rocky, but you can swim, snorkel off the pier. This is a premier dive spot and has a great dive shop. If you are into diving, what better place to stay than just feet away from the private pier where your dive boat picks you up. We loved this place and look forward to taking our grandson back to see the turtles and submarine ride.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Kimrayoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your visit and your review, Kimrayoil! We're happy you were pleased. When you're planning your next visit, ask about prepurchasing drink cards which can save you some money. We recognize that drinks and quite honestly everything costs more in the Cayman Islands than it does back home. It's an island and there isn't much produced there that we use in running our businesses. So everything has to be shipped in containers, which is quite a bit more expensive. But we do work hard to make stays at our resorts competitively priced with similar resorts and provide value and especially great service to our guests.

We hope we will see you back, agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews