We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne for Breakfast”
Review of Smugglers Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smugglers Cottage
Ranked #3 of 4 Ferndown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Champagne for Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed at Smugglers Cottage several times and have always enjoyed the warm hospitality, characteristic ambiance and delicious meals. Spending New Years was particularly special, as breakfast was exceptionally scrumptious with champagne and all the trims. Thank you Roger and Victoria for making our stay in UK so special. We look forward to enjoying your lovely home and friendly services again soon. The Brenzini family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Barbara

It was a joy to welcome you all back to Smugglers Cottage for the New Year, please don't leave it too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I had opportunity to stay at Smugglers recently and found the experience a delight. We were staying to attend a family funeral and the atmosphere / experience served to make a sad occasion enjoyable. Victoria and Roger could not of been more helpful, and I would not hesitate to stay there again. The cottage is full of charm and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Wendy

Thank you so much for writing your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that we were able to give assistance and make a very sad time a little more bearable for you. I do hope that you will come back to Smugglers under better circumstances to be able to see our wonderful county of Dorset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Smugglers Cottage is beautifully quaint, cute, olde worlde, full of character with lovely hosts. Breakfast is usually simple for me, but, the 'sumptuous breakfast' of the Smugglers Cottage should not be missed, with the very tasteful chrome covers on the breakfast plate, butter dish and marmalade pot, plus of course a 'pot of tea', not a tea bag in a cup!! This place does it for me, everytime!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you so very much for your review and we are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with ud and look forward to greeting you again in the not too distant future. Roger & Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is beautiful on the outside and inside as well. The rooms have low ceilings with visible beams. We were served the best possible English breakfast. This is the only hotel in England where I got strong and tasteful coffe.
The hotel is run by a wonderful elderly couple and the hotell is full of soul and character.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you so very much for your review and we are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the coffee was up to your standard. That makes one happy Italian and one happy Swede content to drink our coffee!! We do hope that you will come over again and stay with us. With kind regards Roger & Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed at SmugglersCottage several times a year over the past 4/5 years and the accommodation has always been of a high standard,and have stayed in almost every room over the course of time and had no complaints., and have been most welcomed.
The breakfasts are a notable feature and there is a great range to choose from
The flexability extends even beyond the quoted range available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the trafrfic is not constant during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Jean & Ron, Thank you so very much for placing your review onto this site, it means a lot to us. We have become friends over the years you have been staying with us and we will always welcome you back to Smugglers. With kind regards Roger & Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndown
6.4 km away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
147 reviews
3.1 km away
Travelodge Ringwood
Travelodge Ringwood
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
223 reviews
3.5 km away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
637 reviews
7.9 km away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
12 reviews
12.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cottage

Property: Smugglers Cottage
Address: 577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndown
Price range (per night): $143 - $155
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original part of Smugglers Cottage was built in 1540 and was two workman's cottages. These were knocked into one and the back part built on in the early 1900's. Many of the beams are from the timbers of a Spanish Galleon wrecked at St Albans Head. On curving beams of the drawing room door, the ship's plumb line has been used and, because of the salt absorbed from the sea all those many years ago, the wood is now as hard as ebony. When built, Smugglers Cottage was one of only five cottages on the heath and woodland and consequently was probably used as a natural way station for smugglers making their way inland from Poole Harbour. Here in the comfortable, well concealed building they would sort and share, quarrel and fight, drink and laugh without detection. Now Smugglers Cottage has been a Bed & Breakfast of sorts since the 1930's. The cottage is furnished with many antique pieces which Roger & I have collected over the past 40 years. We hope you will enjoy eating off our Victorian mahogany dining table. The beds are modern and we hope that you will get a very good nights sleep before joining the other guests for our locally sourced and freshly cooked to order breakfast. We have car parking at the rear of the property and during the summer we invite you to sit in the back garden before going out for your evenings entertainment. We do not have a bar but are happy to provide glasses, etc, should you wish to bring in your own alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smugglers Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cottage Ferndown, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing