We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“' A definite home from home '”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ceolwulph Cottage

Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Beautiful oak floored dining room, open plan to kitchen and double doors to living room The open plan kitchen is fully equipped including range style cooker,dishwasher and washer-dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Beautiful oak floored dining room, open plan to kitchen and double doors to living room
The open plan kitchen is fully equipped including range style cooker,dishwasher and washer-dryer
Spacious, sunny conservatory with wicker furniture and views onto the delightful enclosed garden
The pretty, enclosed back garden with patio set is ideal for a summer BBQ
Oak floored hallway leads off to the downstairs cloakroom, complete with WC and hand basin
Generous sized master bedroom, en-suite. King sized bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress, TV/DVD
Large en-suite with generous sized shower cubicle, power shower and luxurious white towels
Twin room with 2 divan beds (can be converted to SuperKing size) with French inspired ash furniture
Villeroy & Boch bathroom suite with illuminated whirlpool bath, power shower and luxury toiletries
Pretty single bedroom with a view of the magnificent Warkworth Castle
Luxury Five Star Gold stone-built Ceolwulph Cottage in a peaceful location with private parking
Historic Warkworth with it's honey coloured stone buildings, fantastic pubs, restaurants and shops
Magnificent 12th century Warkworth Castle, once home to the Dukes and Earls of Northumberland
The long sandy Warkworth beach is a leisurely 20 minutes walk from Ceolwulph Cottage
One of the many magnificent, sandy beaches in Northumberland
Warkworth Bridge over the pretty River Coquet which encircles Warkworth village on three sides
Warkworth Bridge, thought to be the only remaining fortified bridge in England
12th Century Saint Lawrence church
Warkworth from the Coquet Estuary with it's abundant wildlife including grey seals and eider ducks
Lovely views of Warkworth Castle from the 'Mill Walk' footpath along the River Coquet
Amble marina, a 20 minute walk from Warkworth along the Coquet Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David R
County Durham UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“' A definite home from home '”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived just as the owners were closing up following the change over so it was a pleasure to meet with them and be given a short guided tour of the property, arrangements were made for a follow up call the next morning to check we had settled in well, this was a nice touch and left us reassured that they wanted to help in anyway possible.

The property is beautiful situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the picturesque village of Warkworth, within easy walking of all areas of the village. It is well decorated and equipped with every possible need caterered for even our four legged friend who had her own welcome pack. The furnishings are excellent quality and your comfort is addressed in all rooms. There is a small pretty garden to enjoy when the weather allows.

We travelled far and wide exploring the beauty of Northumberland as we had a family friend with us from the USA but always knew we would be returning to the delights of Ceolwulph Cottage at the end of each journey which was nice feeling.

Writing this review is easy because of the quality of the property but hard because recommending it may mean it becomes more difficult to book in the future. Yvonne and Robert have done a wonderful job in all aspects of the cottage and it is on the list for a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It was great to meet you and to have a chat upon your arrival . We also enjoyed meeting and chatting with your family friend from the USA - our first ever guest from America. It will certainly be a pleasure to welcome you back to Ceolwulph Cottage at somepoint in the future.
Kind regards,
Yvonne and Robert, Owners of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayathom...
England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage had everything we needed plus so much more. It is in a great location; on the river, spitting distance of the castle and a 10 minute walk to the beach. There are cafes, pubs and eating places on the doorstop. Amble is an easy 10 minute drive, it has shopping (co-op, tesco, butcher who sells award winning pies), take aways, cafes and restaurants to suit all budgets and tastes. It is also a lovely working fishing port - fresh fish on Thursday.
Other great places are also nearby; Alnwick, Bamburgh etc
We don't often go back to the same place as there is so much to see and do in the world but this may be one of the rare places we will return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and exploring the local area and all it has to offer. There are so many great places to visit in Northumberland and I do hope that I get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards, Yvonne ~ Owner, Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J
Seaham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in Warkworth”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ceolwulph cottage was exceptionally clean, well equipped and beautifully furnished. There were also many thoughtful touches for both ourselves and our dogs. Yvonne also contacted us soon after arrival to ensure everything was OK and we were comfortable.
The location was great for the lovely beaches and exploring Northumberland.
We'll definitely be back and are happy to recommend the cottage to family and friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
John, thank you very much for your complimentary review - much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location, the beaches and visiting some of the treasures of Northumberland. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage when you next visit Northumberland and also hope to get the opportunity to welcome your family and friends to Ceowlulph Cottage- Thank you very much for the recommendation.
Kind regards,
Yvonne - Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andygiddi...
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Quality Accomadation”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent covers everything in relation to our stay. Yvonne,the owner couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
The cottage itself made us feel that we were at home. You couldn't want for anything more with regards to comfort and equipment.
This has to be the most relaxing holiday we have had. Warkworth itself was both human and dog friendly. Top Notch trip...Many thanks. Hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent quality throughout
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
I'm delighted that you had such a relaxing holiday. Thank you very much for your positive comments, they certainly put a smile on my face. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Warkworth.
Best regards, Yvonne, Ceolwulph Cottage owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Marvellous!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A truly superb holiday cottage. Well appointed, well run and located in a wonderful place, we simply couldn't fault it. Many thanks for the effort that clearly goes into making this a stand-out place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the five star review! We really appreciate your feedback comments - we would love to welcome you back to Ceolwulph Cottage when you next visit Northumberland.

Yvonne
Ceolwulph Cottage Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing