We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food with a view ... on a nice day”
Review of Captain's Daughter

Captain's Daughter
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our local friend chose this place to meet us. Hubby and friend had large bowls of seafood chowder which they both really enjoyed. As I require a strict gluten free diet I was a little disappointed at the limited range of GF options. However I asked about a basic salad and was able to have the haloumi salad which was ... ok. The service was good and friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusanMaree1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Manager at Captain's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We are releasing our winter menu in the coming weeks which may have more gluten free options. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

On our way from Nelson to Conway we decided to stop for a late lunch. We’re so glad we chose the captains daughter over our usual havelock stops. A quaint English style pub with a magnificent outdoor balcony with great views. I had mussels which we shared and the chicken salad which was yum. Patrick had the lamb linguini which he enjoyed too. We’ll be back

Thank missliz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Manager at Captain's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks for the feedback! We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the captains daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This building on the main street in Havelock has seen many bar/cafe/restaurant businesses come and go. Hopefully this one will weather the storm and hang around.
We had an evening meal there amongst a number of other families.
Service was good. Scampi as a main meal was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by two of our group. Steaks were cooked to the levels requested.
The dessert menu included strawberry panacota, and peach cheesecake with praline, as well as ice cream sundays. All were very well presented and tasty.
Noise levels were good ensuring everyone could hear each other easily. Love the atmosphere with the huge wooden beams.

Thank Arawata_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Manager at Captain's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback. Yes many restaurants have come and gone throughout the years but we plan on staying, its getting close to three years now, Time flies!

Yes I can agree the Scampi is very scrumptious. During your next visit we should have the new and innovative winter menu. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Went to Havelock for the weekend with my family, my parents had been to captain's daughter before and recommended it. Very clean and tidy lovely inside had great character and charm service excellent our waitress was really chatty and friendly and very busy that night.The food was average, I had the poached fish in milk with a yummy salsa unfortunately the fish was over cooked no loss still enjoyed it. Other meals were steak and salad and asked to swapped chips with salsa which they were more than happy too do,the fish and chips was nice as well. I would be happy to go back the service was great even though the food was average it was still nice enough. Had a great time lovely spot has some seating outside back area we sat inside. In the middle of town handy and easy walking distance if staying in township.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, General Manager at Captain's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi, Donna

Thanks for your feedback and appreciate the photos you have taken. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit even though your fish was over cooked. We hope to see you again and try tempt you with another Fish of the Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We went here for brunch and although the menu was smallish, the coffee was ok and we sat on their big sunny patio out back. An enjoyable meal and it was good to find a quiet place to get away from the road.

Thank tobd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Manager at Captain's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi

Thanks for the review. Yes our sunny patio is hard to beat on a beautiful day. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal. Next time you pass through i'll make you the best coffee you've had inn Havelock. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Daughter also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Captain's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing