We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"On the Track Lodge" Nydia Bay Pelorus Bay Fantastic!”
Review of On The Track Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On The Track Lodge
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Absolutely wonderful. Duncan, Tom and Norma, (and Ron) are wonderful hosts. Lots of laughter and friendship, wonderful food, wonderful accomodation all in a very beautiful setting.
The walk to get there was awesome and to be greeted by all this is an experience not to be missed. I will be back, Thank You.
( Don't be put off by some "I-sites" telling you it's a long way to the start of the track....it's not! and can be done easily)

Room Tip: You are spoilt for choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Fifteen of Us flash campers spent the weekend at On The Track late Jan.
Awsome spot, great hosts, it far exceeded our expectaions .
Keep up the good work guys you do it very well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at On the Track for a weekend from 16-18 December 2011. The occasion was important for us on two accounts. Firstly, we were tracing our family history in Nydia Bay and secondly, it was our wedding anniversary. The owners of On the Track (Duncan, Tom and Norma) were outstanding hosts throughout our stay. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. The meals were a delight and catered to an extremely high standard. No effort was spared in making our stay relaxed and welcoming. We cannot recommend On the Track more highly for those doing the Nydia Bay Track or simply wanting a break away in a very special place. The peace and quiet is unparalleled.

Vince and Helen Arbuckle

Room Tip: We had a double upstairs room with a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincentarbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A group of friends and I did the tramp from Duncan's Bay to "On The Track Lodge" at Nydia Bay. At the end of a our walk we were welcomed with amazing showers, beds, sheets, duvets, pillows, dinner, and a beautiful sunset. The lodge has everything a tramper needs, so you only need to take a change of cloths. (There's even soap and shampoo in the showers.) You can wander the grounds and see the vegetable garden and chickens. We had booked dinner and breakfast and both were great. Dinner consisted of salad, garlic bread, and several kinds of pizzas cooked in the lodge's clay oven. Breakfast included croissants and fresh goat's milk for your coffee or cereal.

At night, our group sat around the bonfire and the lodge owner brought out marshmallows and sticks as the stars came out. If you want to do a tramp and have a wonderful lodge waiting for you at the end, I would highly recommend you do this trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm, which had nice beds. The couples that stayed in the private rooms all said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfordjasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

6 of us walked in and were met by really friendly hosts who welcomed us with a huge pot of tea and biscuits. After settelling in to the bunk room, which is outstanding and bares no resemblance to a bunk room because it is spacious, ultra clean and beautifully thought out and has crisp sheets on the bed, we were fed like kings. Fabulous showers. Great hot tub and generally a must see. If you are self catering then the kitchen is fully equiped and so easy to use. They have thought about everything for your comfort.

Room Tip: The double rooms seem to be upstairs. Twin downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
24.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
31.6 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
322 reviews
11.9 km away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
17.1 km away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
130 reviews
13.8 km away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 86 in Marlborough Region
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Track Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Track Lodge

Address: Nydia Bay, Pelorus Sound | Havelock, Havelock 7150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Havelock
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy hiking the stunning Nydia Track (2 day hike). On The Track Lodge is situated halfway on the track in a remote paradise with no road access. With fantastic lodge accommodation, this is a perfect stop over for 1 or more nights ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing