We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casina Grotta di Ferro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

we stayed here for 3 days in September, 2 parents and our 21 year old son, and loved it. Our accommodation was spacious and very nicely furnished, well maintained and very clean. The grounds, the pool, the eating and other facilities are beautiful and all are in great shape, obviously being well maintained. Our host was very helpful with suggestions for meals and activities in the area. Breakfast had all of the usual components, but with fresh fruit, a nice assortment of local cheese, and interesting breads/cakes. All in all this was the perfect place to start our holiday in Sicily - close enough to local sights, great restaurants and the beach if we wanted to head off for a few hours, but peaceful and completely restful when we wanted to just relax and enjoy the pool and grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marvelous m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed here at the beginning of June and it was wonderful. Great facilities, swimming pool, fully fitted kitchen that guests can use, barbecue area, scenic views, lovely gardens and beautiful rooms. The guest house is in a court yard setting, and very picturesque, the rooms are great with comfortable double beds, air con and nice and clean. The swimming pool was superb for relaxing and taking in the views. Franco and Carmela who own the guest house, were wonderful to me when I was ill unfortunately on the last day of our trip, assisting with medication that I needed. They were very warm and friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was too much for them. Would definately stay here again, you obviously need a car, but the beach and ammenities are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Grotta di Ferro in November 2010 with our daughter (17 years old). Breathtaking view on the surrounding nature landscapes and the sea. Isolated enough to enjoy serenity and relax during your stay. Swimming pool always accessible. Excellent Breakfast offered with genuine and typical local produced food. In spite of the late season we were able to spend some time at the closest beach of Marina di Ragusa. The owners Franco and Carmela are very kind and helpful, making you stay as feeling at home. Don't forget to ask Franco to advice for the best restaurants and trattorie of the surroundings (mozzarella cheese, ricotta, fish ... ). Wireless Internet connection was always available.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena195otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We spent 4 nights there during our 15-day holiday in Sicily and it was perfect. Franco, the owner, was so kind and helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. He even lent us chairs and parasol for the beach! The room was big and beautiful, with air conditioning and an excellent bathroom. The swimming pool was an oasis on hot scorching middays. Breakfast was superb, I still remember the ricota croissants!!! Very near the beach and beautiful places like Ragusa Ibla and Scicli.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

very good B&B with very nice swimmingpool. Breakfast superb and the restaurants in the surroundings (advice from the owner Franco) very tasty.
The views from the courtyard are marvellous

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoffel1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Croce Camerina
9.5 km away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
670 reviews
24.0 km away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#7 of 18 in Modica
242 reviews
10.8 km away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Scicli Albergo Diffuso
Scicli Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 40 in Scicli
361 reviews
6.0 km away
Mangiabove Guest House
Mangiabove Guest House
#1 of 21 in Marina di Ragusa
96 reviews
8.9 km away
Dunedorate
Dunedorate
#1 of 8 in Punta Secca
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Santa Croce Camerina

Been to Casina Grotta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casina Grotta di Ferro

Address: Contrada Torre Maestro SNC, 97100, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Croce Camerina
Price Range: $81 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casina Grotta di Ferro 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grotta Di Ferro Estate is rural building typical of Ragusa having approximately 52 hectars of olive and carob trees having once been a summer residence belonging to the nobility.The complex is immersed in the characteristic Iblea countryside. Lovely hills and plateaus, divided by narrow, shallow gorges cut throughout the centuries by small torrents in the white limestone which forms the ibleo land. In the last years the Estate has entirely been restored, brought to the ancient shine and turned to Country Hotel by the new owners that they take care of it, personally, the management and the hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casina Grotta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing