We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,497)
Filter reviews
1,497 results
Traveller rating
1,261
185
32
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,261
185
32
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juniper restaurant rose lounge infinity pool tasting menu mountain view suite above sea level main building butterfly trail stunning location heaven on earth abandoned village half board amazing views via ferrata hajar mountains mountain retreat rooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 1,497 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

An amazing lodge to spend a couple of days (in our case 4 nights). Perched on a cliff, the location is spectacular - surrounded by mountains and desert, offering amazing views from several viewpoints. The lodge is modern with every convenience (the WiFi is a bit slow but understandable given the location). The rooms are huge and come equipped with a balcony or terrace; a bathtub; Nespresso machines and even a walk-in closet.
The common areas such as the lobby, hallways, lounge and dining area are very stylish and contemporary, reflecting the local styles.
The service is pretty good and the staff always greet everyone no matter what time of day it is, or how busy they are.
The menu is varied enough, changing every day, and offering a good choice of local dishes. We were satisfied with the wine list as well.
However:
A minor hiccup for us at least, was the lack of sunbeds around the pool area. It was at times difficult to get four beds together (we were two couples) so our friends were separated from us most afternoons when we returned to relax by the pool from our day trip(s). There simply isnt enough room to accommodate all the guests by the pool. I think perhaps they didnt count on so many people using the pool area - it was packed every afternoon. Another problem I hope they solve was the lack of poolside service. We wanted to order drinks to have by the pool but no one showed up. The staff usually give you a "buzzer" to ring for service but the staff dont see when people arrive or leave throughout the day so we never got the buzzer so we always had to go and order manually - again not a really big deal but something they should fix given the cost of staying here. Bottom line: If you want to claim and charge prices as a "5 star luxury hotel" then have the service and refinement to match.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljeffOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaJA, General Manager at Alila Jabal Akhdar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear traveljeffOslo, thank you for a super review we are very pleased you had an amazing stay. Yes, the pool area can get a little busy and we are working on some additional areas for sunbeds. We have noted you comment about service around the pool and will ensure it is improved. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting and excellent facilities. Great hikes in stunning surroundings. Friendly and hopeful staff. Fresh, well-appointed rooms and fast internet (in case you couldn’t quite switch off).

Beware, however: lacklustre breakfast service (food excellent, just all a bit slow) and lots of children / families so don’t expect an entirely tranquil getaway.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FXtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaJA, General Manager at Alila Jabal Akhdar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear FXtraveller, thank for a taking for taking to review your visit, we are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit. We have noted your comment on the breakfast service and will definitely work on improving that. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We travelled with 3 Kids. Perfect mountain lodge. Very good food. Friendly staff. You have to do the climbing tour, which is unbelievable, but challenging for your nerves and mussels. Nice outside pools an daybeds. Beautiful silent place.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaJA, General Manager at Alila Jabal Akhdar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Micheal R thank you for a great review, we are very pleased you had an enjoyable stopover and were able to fit in our Cave Adventure. We look forward to welcoming you all bac very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This resort is in a beautiful location and we had a lovely Jabal Terrace room which provided a lovely viewing platform. The rooms are very well furnished and designed and the resort is very well laid out if a bit rough hewn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My wife and I treated ourselves to a spa treatment in the cliff edge open air arbour and it was a wonderful experience which has to be tried should you visit the Alila.

This would have been a five star review but for two small issues. When we arrived at the resort there was no-one on the door to meet us. Our driver left our cases on the door step and we had to find our own way into reception. The other item was that during our three night stay no member of management approached us to check if we were enjoying our stay - even the manager who checked us out never asked. The strange thing is, we would have told them it had been very good if someone had thought to ask!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IainScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaJA, General Manager at Alila Jabal Akhdar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Iain, thank you for taking the time to write, we are very pleased to read you had such a lovely stay at the resort. We are especially pleased you and your wife enjoyed the Spa Arbour treatment. We are very sorry that your arrival experience was less than welcoming and that I (or the team) did not get a chance to meet and chat with you both during your stay - no excuse we will try harder! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Mountain very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The resort, facilities, and staff were top-notch. :-) We loved the kids' club too, and wish we had more time to stay! My son, unfortunately, got a splinter in his foot from running barefoot on our suite's balcony. This was quickly remedied with a First Aid Kit brought to our room... and chocolates. :-) It was a perfect 24 hours at Alila Jabal Akhdar!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gghiggins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaJA, General Manager at Alila Jabal Akhdar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear gghiggins7, thank you for a great review, sorry about the splinter, we hope the chocolates made up for it! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews