We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highs and lows - and not the altitude!”
Review of Sunwing Airlines


Reviewed 6 April 2018

We did a one-week excursion to Varadero, Cuba. The communication for departure was very effective with reminder emails, a Sunwing app to help confirm seat locations and booking, and the plane departed on time. The flight attendants were high energy and very supportive. When we departed, we were greeted with a glass of champagne, meal options and snacks, and an overhead movie. We also booked a day trip to Havana while in the air - while a trip I don't recommend booking - it was easy to organize while in mid-flight. There were no problems with our departure. The bus to the resort left swiftly and the guide was great. Overall, the staff were great, the departure was efficient, the airplane ride was smooth, and the transportation to the resort was super!
Our return flight wasn't as smooth. The bus picking us up from the resort to the airport was 45 minutes late, which is too bad when we're soaking up every last minute of the holiday. The back of the bus had 6 very rowdy people who were drunk, obnoxious, screaming profanities and made the whole bus uncomfortable. The guide at the front was unsure how to deal with them. Small children on the bus were exposed to utterly horrible words. Some parents tried to suggest they tone it down, only to be berated and challenged to a fist fight. They had cans of beer on the bus that they kept drinking. The Sunwing check in line was a 1.25 hour wait, the obnoxious drunks weren't stopped by the check-in staff, and then they kept drinking once they got to the gate waiting room. A few reminders to passengers would serve Sunwing well: 'Moderate alcohol consumption before boarding the bus or the plane is required. Passengers showing signs of excessive consumption will be prohibited travel.' Then, enforce this. This seems like a simple rule to enforce.
With the exception of the return trip, we really enjoyed our experience with Sunwing. There are improvements to be made, that once in place, will make it a better experience for all.

Thank DeathRacerEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwingAirlines, DV - Social Media Agent at Sunwing Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our services, although I can certainly understand your position on other passengers behaviour. We continuously aim to rise above and beyond our customers’ travel expectations to ensure that they are satisfied with their vacation packages from the moment they board our flights, to their pleasant return back home. We hope to welcome you on board Sunwing Airlines once again in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 723 of 4,344 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I will never book another trip through Sunwing vacations and I have told everyone I know not to either. They are disorganized and unapologetic about how they treat their guests. They cancelled my original flight home due to unforeseen circumstances which happens; however, the voucher we got in return for missing an entire day of work was $150 off of our next Sunwing vacation. This was a slap in the face that said a day of our lives (during which I missed several important meetings at work) was not even worth a reimbursement of any kind. Essentially they used the opportunity to try to scam us into booking with them again.

Do not book with them.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwingAirlines, SK | Social Media Agent at Sunwing Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Pat,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your recent experience. We truly regret hearing of any disappointment with the services provided by Sunwing Airlines and completely understand that it had affected a portion of your travel plans.

We continuously aim to rise above and beyond our customers' travel expectations with Sunwing therefore, your feedback is greatly valued and will be shared among the applicable departments.

We thank you once again for your time and hope you have a wonderful day.

Warm regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I have flown with Sunwing several times and its hit and miss. This time flight was overbooked and had deplane for extra weight. Then readjust weight for take off, someone got ill waiting for all this to happen, deplane for his luggage and a final reload for take off. Our flight was delayed by almost 2 hours. Come to find out that Sunwing had cancelled the next days flight and added them to ours which caused the overage in luggage weight and some of us didn't get our luggage until almost the end of our trip. Instead offered a $50 voucher for the trouble? I still travel with you and keep my fingers crossed but you really got to get it together! Luckily staff is helpful and polite.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank lovestotravel769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwingAirlines, SK | Social Media Agent at Sunwing Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Sunwing Airlines. We completely understand the effect an experience like this causes on your overall vacation. Your feedback is greatly valued and has been sent to the appropriate department for review and training purposes.

We thank you once again for your time and hope to welcome you on board another one of our flights in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

As usual on airlines these days, no leg room. Nice service. Food for purchase as usual. Very nice to check in at the desk and checked bag included with package. Quick baggage claim. Comfortable flight overall but for the usual leg room issues on planes.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwingAirlines, SK | Social Media Agent at Sunwing Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Carrie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Sunwing Airlines.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your travel experience with Sunwing. We continuously aim to rise above and beyond our customers’ travel expectations to ensure that they are satisfied with their vacation packages from the moment they board our flights, to their pleasant return back home. Your feedback regarding our seating is greatly appreciated and has been sent to the appropriate department for review.

We hope to welcome you on board another one of our flights in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our flight was direct from Moncton to Varadero. Our flight was later in the day and the flight crew member that was tending to us appeared to be a bit sharp with her responses. We tried to cheer her up because we were on vacation mode, chipper, so she had to be happy too. After this impasse it was fine.
We had pre-ordered food. The chicken wrap was good but the cheese tray was disappointing. We had had it in another airline and it was great, the one offered on this flight was somewhat limited. ( very thin slices of cheese, crackers,etc ) I won't recommend it on sunwing flights. We had 2 emergencies on the return flight. A child was very ill and a lady appeared to have had breathing and chest pains. The flight crew was prompt to deal with the lady and in requesting medical help from a nurse on board. Upon our arrival to the Moncton airport, there were 2 ambulances waiting. The pilot asked that we remained seated until the child and the ill lady had exited the aircraft but the instant the flight stopped, people were getting up, opening the overhead bins and not respecting the remain seated indicator.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank pgbsw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwingAirlines, SK | Social Media Agent at Sunwing Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Sunwing Airlines.

We truly appreciate your feedback regarding our Buy-On-Board menu as well as our flight crew. We continuously aim to rise above and beyond our customers' travel expectations with Sunwing therefore, your feedback is greatly valued and will be shared among the applicable departments.

We hope to welcome you on board another one of our flights in the near future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC