We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s always good”
Review of Southwest Airlines


Reviewed 26 September 2018

Southwest is always our first choice. We find it to be the best value. Friendly service at an affordable rate.

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,890 of 31,131 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

I have had about 10 round-trip flights in the past year, all with at least two segments each way (making about 50 flights). And, regardless of airline, none of them has gone even close to plan—long delays, rerouting, added segments, overnights in airports, even getting dumped several hours away from the intended destination. It has not been a good year of flights for me. So, when I got to my gate at BWI on Feb 5th and found that my flight was canceled, I figured “here we go again.” But, the gate agent spent time looking for a flight for me and actually got me on an earlier flight, arriving three hours sooner than planned!!! How unexpected was that? But, that is the Southwest that I’ve come to expect. The flight attendants and gate agents are (almost) always pleasant, even when things go wrong. Thanks, Southwest!!

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank JustJenniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Early morning flight out of Midway, terribly early and sold out still. Crew was pleasant in spite of the hour and crowded aircraft. Rains in Chicago and as we flew west. The flight remained smooth or at least smoother than it could have been.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Flight was sold out, service was excellent, flight was smooth. Cabin crew was effective and got it all done well.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Everyone is in a better mood on SW flights, because there is no first class cabin separated from the main cabin. They allow you to take carryon baggage for free, and to check 2 bags for free, and there are no movies, but you can play your own media - phones, computers, DVD players in your seat. They give out beverages and snacks, so nobody starves, there is leg room, and sometimes (like on our return trip) they fly without a sardine packed plane of people - they fly with empty seats. Their prices are reasonable, but you can pay more for boarding sooner. The staff have good attitudes too - smiling and sometimes joking about routine stuff that is otherwise boring for the umpteenth time.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank RainsongAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC