We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as cheap as the headline price”
Review of Ryanair


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Online booking was fairly straight forward but in terms of pricing, it was quite confusing. The basic price was very cheap but when you select the extras it soon adds up. We got priority boarding but seems so did everyone else. The queue was so long at the gates. It was also unclear which lane was normal and which priority as everyone just merged into one. Having a member of staff there just prior to boarding will definitely help.

As to the flight, it was uneventful. It left a bit late, not too bad. The notice was confusing because it stated final call when everyone are still queuing and waiting at the gate. Another thing worth mentioning is only book when you are ready and know what you want as it is more expensive if you try and add it later.

Not our first choice but ok for a short trip.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank AndrewFromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 604 of 55,457 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Joined the shorter of 2 queues for the flight about 40 minutes before takeoff only to realise shortly after that the very long queue (at least two thirds of the flight) was the ''priority'' queue.
We were funnelled through the gate into the stairwell waiting to board the flight after standing for about 25 minutes, only to spend the next 30 minutes standing on the stairs. Then we got told to go back to the other side of the gate and were rammed back into the departure area where we stood for another 20 minutes before again being passed through the gate into the stairwell. Finally boarded about 15 minutes later after about 1 hour 30 minutes crammed together being marched up and down for our privileged ''priority'' boarding.

I know Ryanair is no frills and cheap, but c'mon this ''priority'' boarding is a joke - the way they now structure all their add ons means pretty much everyone is 'priority', making the experience awful. My advice, pay more and go with somebody else.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Global27450969882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Baggage restrictions just get worse and worse with this Company. Unless you pay extra for priority boarding you are only allowed one small handbag on board now.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank annesmith0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From the moment we walked up desk to get "help" to finally boarding our flight an hour late our experience was terrible. They have more fine print policies designed to make money that I have ever seen on a airline. We arrived 1 hour and 50 minutes before our flight was scheduled to leave (this was only due to taking the wrong bus and being brought into the city not the airport). We were not able to make the two hour check in limit. This mistake cost us 55 euros/person and with 4 of us flying and the exchange this was a lot of money!! There was no exceptions regardless of situation. On top of it there baggage policy deemed our pre-purchased bags too heavy and charged us 40 euros/bag over limit. They refused to put the money already spent to bring a smaller bag towards the new charge and would not give us a refund. The staff at the airport was very unhelpful and slow. DON'T EVER FLY RYANAIR!!! Unless everything runs smoothly this "low cost alternative" is anything but cheap.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Roving12739477872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Departed with 5 min. delay, but arrived on time. Clean airplane, friendly staff. We had exit seats with ample leggroom.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC