We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Direct Flight from the United States to Australia”
Review of Qantas


Reviewed 16 January 2024

The average Flight Time Duration from Los Angeles, California (United States) to Sydney, New South Wales (Australia) is 14 hours 30 minutes.

Date of travel: November 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (21,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 21,135 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2024

We were excited that Qantas’ website says plant-based meals are now available on all flights and in all classes as vegan meals (which we usually pre-order) are often spicy which can cause me migraines. However, on a 13-hour flight from London to Singapore, they said there weren’t any left as only a small amount is on each flight, and said that no other food was available (vegetarian or snacks or even bread!). After pleading with them, they eventually gave us tomato soup (from Business) that was hard to eat with flat bamboo spoons. The staff weren’t helpful or sympathetic at all. We were very hungry by the time we arrived in Singapore but there was no time to get any food there. When we boarded the flight to Melbourne, we asked the flight attendants if they could ensure we got plant-base meals, explaining we hadn’t had any food. However, they were rude and unhelpful. When we explained what the website said, one attendant said rudely, “Well, why didn’t you click on it?” (making no sense). They said there were plant-based meals on board but wouldn’t reserve any for us. We waited several hours to see if we were going to get any food. We did get the meals but by this time we hadn’t eaten for over a day. The plane on the second leg was a (substituted) domestic plane with no entertainment so we just had to sit there for 9 hours. The whole trip was a nightmare and very distressing. I complained to Qantas but all they said was to reserve special meals in future. We’ve flown with Qantas for decades but will never again. What has happened to this airline?

Date of travel: November 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

An Airbus A330 with a 2-4-2 seating arrangement. The flight departed on time with a reasonably smooth flight. The service was satisfactory and the crew were helpful. A criticism towards cleanliness as the seat pockets in front of our seats were littered with rubbish including used tissues.

Date of travel: December 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank MalB316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Dear Qantas team,
I wanted to express my heartfelt gratitude for the exceptional experience on QF2 from Heathrow to Singapore. The staff at Heathrow Terminal 3 were incredibly helpful and professional, exemplifying high-end customer service.
The journey was made even more magical by the attentive service, luxurious amenities, heavenly food, and wine, as well as the comfortable beds provided by the Qantas team. Special thanks to the lovely Cynthia & Philip, and their peers who went above and beyond.
A shoutout to the flight attendant who escorted us during boarding – a thoughtful touch that added to the overall experience. Witnessing the care provided to a family with an unwell child was commendable and made us proud to be Qantas passengers.
Having flown all levels, from economy to various classes, We can confidently say that Qantas consistently delivers exceptional service.

Date of travel: January 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Gigijacqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Qantas tried to add additional charges over the phone despite not being in terms and conditions. Lodged this with the ACCC but they have to be the most dormant regulator in the world. They were once a great airline with great great service but now a dodgy airline with inconsistent service and dishonest agents.

Date of travel: December 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.