We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qantas rips off flyers”
Review of Qantas


Reviewed 26 March 2020

Qantas using COVID-19 to gouge Australian passengers in their time of greatest need.
I am angered and disgusted with our so called ‘national carrier’ for profiteering from travellers’ fear and insecurity during the Coronavirus crisis.
In late February 2020, my wife and I set off from Sydney flying Qantas for a 6-week skiing holiday in Colorado.
Three weeks into our trip-of-a-lifetime on Saturday the 14th March, it was announced that all Colorado ski resorts would immediately close due to the fast spread of COVID-19.
Being seniors, we felt very concerned as news got worse with every passing hour. There was talk of a ban on domestic travel in the United States and reports of “Qantas to slash international capacity by 90 per cent from end of March” (our original flight was to return to Australia in April). The following morning a story in the SMH reported, The Department of Foreign Affairs advises “If you're already overseas and wish to return to Australia, we recommend you do so as soon as possible by commercial means”.
So, naturally, we decided we had to get out of America as soon as we could.
Obviously everyone else felt the same way - all Qantas contact systems in America crashed. There was no call-back service. We spent between 4 and 6 hours in phone queues on multiple occasions and trying various phone numbers. Each time we were unsuccessful: the phone line would drop out, or after 6 hours we would give up. And infuriatingly, the website was only useful for cancelling flights, not for changing flight dates. So for us, it was useless.
On Monday 16th after another 4-hour wait, we finally got through to Qantas on the phone only to find to our amazement that in this time of unprecedented crisis, Qantas had no compassion for our dire circumstances and only seemed intent on profiting from our precarious situation. We note that most of the American airlines introduced a policy to waive ticketing change fees. But not Qantas!
Qantas took advantage of our vulnerability to extort $5820 to change our ticket date. We simply needed to leave America ASAP before President Trump banned domestic travel which would have stranded us in Colorado indefinitely. We had no option but to accept this outrageous fee. To rub salt into our wounds, Qantas erroneously booked us onto a cancelled domestic AA flight from Denver to Dallas, which caused enormous stress and another 4-hour phone queue trying to get it sorted out. If I hear that crackling, distorted wait-music again, I will definitely scream.
And to top it all off... on the flight from Dallas to Sydney, Qantas lost our luggage in entirety, causing further delays and anxiety.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
3  Thank Manofrheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (21,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,574 of 21,133 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2020 via mobile

My wife had her flights back to UK with Singapore airways cancelled and as the Aus boarder was shut I booked a one way SYD LHR with Qantas. Not cheap but that was OK. First flight was cancelled but e-mail said they were rebooking - several e-mail that day and the last stated that they had rebooked but needed to speak to us.

UK call centre stated that there was a wait of between 3.30 and 4.15 hours. I just held and after 2 hours 46 managed to speak t a very friendly and helpful lady in New Zealand. Flight was rebooked Sydney - Darwin - London. Some confusion regarding flight time resulted in a 10 hour wait at SYD but final outcome was good and my wife is in the air from DWN - LHR right now.

Thanks Qantas and good luck to all your staff during these difficult times

Date of travel: March 2020
1  Thank peterpW8550ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Everything was great. We got the last flight toward the US. We are wishing the very best to the entire crew until they are able to return to work.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020

Excellent flight. It was on time, very comfortable, good food and great in flight entertainment with well fitting headphones. The whole process was very easy, nice and friendly and certainly not stuffy. I woulkd strongly recommend people give Qantas a go.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020 via mobile

Had to travel to Sydney for business this week at the middle of COVID-19 crises. The airport was a ghost town, but my flight with Qantas was so comfortable and pleasant. The plane was super clean, all the middle seats were empty, and the crew was informative and helpful. Don't recommend flying under the current environment, but if you must then fly with Qantas.

Date of travel: March 2020
1  Thank 650zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.