We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PAL is Improving”
Review of Philippine Airlines (PAL)


Reviewed 6 April 2018

I fly almost every week, and I loathed the cramped seats as you try to find the right position for your legs in a 4 hour flight. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the seat at the newer PAL plane have improved dramatically from before, and they now have personal TV's which still isn't available in some of their flights. Flight left on time, service is good, and food was marginal at best. But having an improved leg room makes it worth it.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank AGG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippine_Airlines, Customer Experience Manager at Philippine Airlines (PAL), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello AGG888,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts. Feedback like this motivates us to do better. We are excited to welcome you again on-board.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 911 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Anyone who rates this airlines good has never flown another airline before. You can choose your seat when booking, but they will not give you what you asked for. They had one meal choice. No TV, or screen. Small seats, very close together, no leg room. Obviously they have the monopoly on the Philippines, but do yourself a favor, this is an expensive airlines, for no reason. Most of their staff is smug, and short with people. I have had to fly this airlines 3 times in 3 months, so I know it was not just an odd day. I will never fly them again.

Date of travel: April 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippine_Airlines, Customer Experience Manager at Philippine Airlines (PAL), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello James G,

We regret to learn of your disappointments. We have taken note of the concerns you've raised. Please know that we're continuously improving our services and performance to exceed customers' expectations. We hope your next flight with us will be more enjoyable.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

it was ok, going all ok. coming back my monitor while watching movie keeps resetting every like 5 minutes. food was ok.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank reyneriom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippine_Airlines, Manager at Philippine Airlines (PAL), responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello reyneriom,

Thank you for choosing to fly with Philippine Airlines. We're sorry that your monitor is inoperative. We will forward your feedback to the appropriate office for proper handling. We hope to see again on-board your future travels.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I fly a lot of local PAL destinations here. This one to Bacolod is worth the review due to the difficulties that arose. ON arrival at check-in, Mactan, it became evident that the computer terminals were not working properly. Staff stayed calm while they developed a Plan B even though this problem persisted. Would not say they were very communicative about the problem, but at least they were dealing with it. Eventually we were directed several lines over to other computer terminals that were functioning. We were processed quickly at that point, although a lot of time had passed. Then PAL had established a personal guide for a large 10+ person group of us - he sped us through security checkpoints, and then downstairs to a waiting bus. When we boarded the aircraft, we were obviously the last group... We were seated, and 15 minutes later in the air. Usually I don't have this type of trouble, but it was interesting to see it come up and then get handled. For the most part, I find PAL to be very good even though sometimes I think people like to ding them here.

Date of travel: April 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank profits101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippine_Airlines, Manager at Philippine Airlines (PAL), responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Mabuhay John T!

Thank you for choosing Philippine Airlines. We are glad that our check-in agent was able to assist your group well despite the trouble in our system. We look forward to seeing you again on-board!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Though our flight was delayed and has significantly affected our arrival time and hotel check-in, PAL is always a good choice. In-flight food is delicious and the crew is courteous and attentive. Check-in and on-boarding are done swiftly because PAL is the only airline that uses NAIA Terminal 2. So there is no long line. But I must say that our pilots during this flight may not be so experienced as the take-off and landing were not as smooth compared to our previous PAL flights. In fact, my husband and I were so dizzy up until we reach our hotel. Nevertheless, we still like PAL, not only because it is our flag carrier but it is a delight to fly with them.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Liza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippine_Airlines, Customer Experience Manager at Philippine Airlines (PAL), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Liza T,

We are glad that we were able to delight you and your husband with our services. It was a pleasure to have you on-board. We look forward to seeing you on-board soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC