We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the better airlines”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since I live in Norway there is not many options for direct flight when travelling outside the main european cities. Schipol is among my favorite airports in Europe when I have to change between planes. It is easy to get to the different gates without having to go by train og bus between different terminals. The food was surprisingly good on the plane to South Africa. As with most other airlines the seat comfort has declined considerably over the last years. The same has the in-flight service.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank BGK190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IriesB, Manager at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. We are happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations on board. Although, we would like to know your thoughts on our seat and in-flight entertainment. We do value our passenger's opinion as this is one way of making us better. You can send a feedback to our Customer Care team by filling up a form on our website. They will then review this and update you.

In any case, we would still like to thank you for sharing your thoughts here. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 362 of 24,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The seats are incredibly small. I am a very small guy and could barely fit. They overcharged for my baggage and then after sending in a refund claim they denied it. KLM blamed it on Delta even after initially taking responsibility. Delta simply never responded.

The planes are old and dated and their customer service is no better.

I assure you I will never fly KLM or Delta again.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IriesB, Manager at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to learn your disappointment and thank you for sharing your review with us. We understand as well that your refund has been denied. Should you wish for us to double check the claim, you may contact us via one of our Social Media platforms and perhaps we can shed light on the reason of the rejection.

In any case, we wish you a fun and safe travels, even if you no longer wish to fly with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a horrible flight to Amsterdam on another airline we were braced for the worst. The level of service and friendliness on such a short flight was astounding. They actually served us snacks and beverages. I want to say how much I love KLM's (new?) food service. Everything is made of local Dutch ingredients. On our returning flight we were served an egg sandwich with a little story about the farm from which the eggs came. You can go to the website and see how the chickens live on webcam. I love to see such an older established airline embracing new ideas and actually caring. Excellent work!

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IriesB, Manager at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

This is such a great review, Joshie. We have literally smiled after reading it as the review is on a fresh perspective!

And of course we are happy that we were able to meet your expectations on board. And anytime you are ready to fly with us again, we will be happy to travel with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it was a very nice flight, classic 747, very easy non stop.
the plane interior is in need to a refresh, and leg space need improvements, but most of all the entertainment system need to change, screen are low resolution and choices are extremely limited. in the end we didn't use it at all during the 11 hours flight.
food is good and crew is excellent
overall a good experience

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank UltimateFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IriesB, Manager at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for honest review! We hear you and we would like to thank you for including the good, the bad and the ugly (?) with our services. We are happy we were able to meet your expectations on board. Should you wish to send us a formal feedback, please note that you may do this on our website, via Customer Support tab. We value our passenger's feedback as this helps in improving our services.

On the other hand, we are delighted that you enjoyed our meal and our KLM lovely staff. We hope we will see you on board again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was ok, but great would be different. Plane was old and noisy, seats aren't great either. The OBE really needs an upgrade too. I had paid extra to get a better seat, but all it meant was a bit of extra legroom. Other than that, it was the same as a standard economy seat.
If it was not about the staff, I would not pick KLM in the future. They really need to upgrade their fleet.
One thing to keep in mind is that they are pretty cheap, so if you're willing to tolerate a few issues, then you might want to consider them.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank grasy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IriesB, Manager at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest opinion, Grasy. We value our passenger's feedback, especially coming from on of our loyal passengers. We are sorry to learn that the seat and the aircraft in general was not up to your standard. And we apologize for any inconvenience.

As for our staff, they are indeed very friendly and accommodating. And it is nice that our passenger's appreciates them too.

We do hope that next time, we will be able to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC