We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was beyond expectation”
Review of Hainan Airlines


Reviewed 13 January 2019

Large air-crafts really add to customer comforts. Seats are comfortable. Good leg room. Matured staff. Convenient timings. Remarkable thing was food served on flight was awesome.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank vindac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2019

The plane was quite clean and the stuff very nice. Food is good. However the space of the aircraft was limited and the configuration was not super confortable.
Not many choices for films and they are quite old.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Zhengfsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

As a family of 5, including one infant on a lap, we traveled from Guangzhou to Chicago, connecting in Beijing. Overall, we were very pleased with the service and the flight - an extremely good value for the price we paid! It's also worth noting that I was able to connect to the customer service line very quickly on several occasions, virtually no wait to speak with a representative. The only suggestion I would have may not be in Hainan Airline's control: We would have liked to have been able to check our bags all the way through to Chicago from Guangzhou, instead of having to claim and recheck them in Beijing.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank williambV5601NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Simple airline with a simple service. Do hold ups or major issues. Staff helpful and friendly.
Check easy no issues
Yes I would use them again.
Advise to use online checkin to try and get seats you want.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

I used this airline for a long international flight for the first time. Everything was on time, food was ok, can't say it was very tasty, but not bad either. The things I didn't like 1- poor collection of movies; 2- long awaits before the cleaning after lunch.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank juliatR3981Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC