We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Flight”
Review of Emirates


Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very comfortable flight. The pilots were professionals and so was the crew. Landing was excellent and absolutely smooth for my wife who has a severe spondilitus and had been apprehensive taking a flight. Please continue with the same for us to travel again .

If you want a good 'Irish Coffee" and if Rohit Saxena is one of the crew on your Emirate flight you are lucky - just go for it!

Col Ravi Khera

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank ravi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,297 of 44,365 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In flight entertainment was good. I expected a bit better service from the staff. Overall experience was average.

Date of travel: December 2017
Thank harmengelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hi all,

I've just witness the most hypocritical, selfish, despising and almost insulting behavior I've never experimented in my nonetheless busy and long travel life. I've been indeed in hundreds of flights, in hundreds of airports and in hundreds of hotels, but never ever have I been treated with such contempt.

We had the most catastrophic trip on Emirates from London to Thiruvananthapuram (aka Trivandrum) for Christmas last year, and of course Emirates declined any responsibilities in any of it and just sent us back to our insurers, who of course did the same and sent us back to Emirates. The only dfference is that insurance has legal basis for it, when Emirates just have dedain and disrespect for their clients.

PART 1: Flight from Gatwick to Dubai

To start with, our the departure from Gatwick was 45min late... Then maybe an hour before the expected landing in Dubai, we were warned about some heavy fog preventing from landing. Fog is not the responsibility of Emirates, ok, but all that will follow from it definitely was...

From there we turned in circle above Dubai for a couple hours. Then they said we needed to refuel, so we headed to Muscat, where we landed one hour later. Then we waited at least another hour there, before taking off again to Dubai... Where we turned in circle again for a couple hours more, before they finally announced we would land on the second airport of Dubai, 60km further.

When we arrived there in the early morning (maybe 6/7am, at the time we were supposed to land in India), we didn't know what to do, why we were here, what we were supposed to do. There was absolutely zero welcoming organised, no information, nobody available to help the hundreds of people arriving there, continuously, confused and left alone in an absolute chaos like I have never seen before. The only few staff people there were unbelievably rude and didn’t know anything anyway. It took us around 2 hours just to get through immigration.
Then, again without any support nor information, and literally on our own guess, we took a bus to the actual Dubai International Airport, to look for Emirates' desk to get our new tickets. Indeed at least we had received an email stating that they had booked us on another flight to Trivandrum (but you'll see about that...). After taking the bus we then had to take in addition a cab to get to the proper terminal, both at our expense of course.

We managed to obtain the tickets Emirates had us re-booked on... except taking off from Dubai at 8pm, when we were supposed to have landed in Trivandrum that day at 8am! And instead of the initial direct Dubai/Trivandrum, we now had a much longer 2 legs night trip via Muscat. And I add that we could not get our luggage back (but were told instead that "they would follow" up to our final destination, you'll see about that too...).

So instead of arriving the nice hotel room we had booked (and paid) for that morning in India, we were now facing a whole day wandering in Dubai, and a second night of painful traveling coming after, and all this without our personal stuff, without support, without food or water, and all at our expense.

I also add that we were re-booked on companies with very low-quality standards (Flydubai and Jetairways) and on a much longer trip. Actually, we had seen these tickets proposed when we initially booked our trip, and deliberately did NOT book them as the trip was so much longer and with very inconvenient timings. Which is why they were also half the price of Emirates tickets... So we paid instead around 300£ more, precisely to avoid these inconveniences and enjoy instead a faster and direct trip, along with supposingly better quality of service from Emirates... How ironic.

PART 2: Flight from Dubai to Muscat and Muscat to Trivandrum.

Flight departure to Muscat was delayed one hour… Thus we realised that we would then miss our connexion flight to Trivandrum. Still nobody checking on us, no information available, no help of any sort. So on our own initiative, we went to Flydubai's business lounge to find somebody to speak to. We were then rebooked, again, on another flight leaving earlier, although still landing just half an hour before our connexion flight take off... And we were yet again explicitly reassured that our luggage would follow accordingly.

We then took that flight and landed in Muscat ok, but were required to check in again for the connexion flight to India as it had not been done already in Dubai. We are around 12 people in that situation. We found overcrowded counters, with only one guy able to check passengers for Jetairways. On top of this the agent was absolutely not aware of the situation and not understanding where we were coming from/going to. He barely spoke English, and quite frankly was completely incompetent, as it took him 20min to just check in the first person... Let me remind you here that we had only 30min connexion time available, that Jetairways was not aware they should wait for us, and, of course, still no staff nor help available in any ways.
Thanks god, rushing things through and pushing/forcing our way and running like crazy, we managed to get our flight... and it was probably the worst one I had in my life: with rude people, no food, and dirty and smelly aircraft.

We finally landed in Trivandrum in the early morning (so 24h later than initially scheduled with Emirates), only to discover that, of course, our luggage was lost along the way. After filling up our lost property declaration, we found out that the hotel driver had obviously left (although we did keep them updated on our adventures, since we knew the hotel was at a one-hour drive). So, we had to find and pay for another one, after first having to find some cash with no ATM around, obviously.

All this to say that we spent almost 2 full days in airports with no sleep, no food, no help, no luggage. I highlight that on top of this it was the night of Christmas Eve, that we were supposed to celebrate in a romantic getaway on Verkala Beach, not running in overcrowded chaotic airport lounges!

We finally got our luggage delivered on the 27, which left us 4 days with the same clothes and without any of our things. And still no call, no apologies, no help from Emirates.

We sent Emirates a full report on the story, and and the more they would repeat their shameful, hypocrite and pathetic apologies, the more they would basically explain how much they don't care, how much client service and client satisfaction is a myth from an older age, and how much we were just an annoying number in their meat factory.

To whoever still think that Emirates is a company who cares about their customers and provide a good service, note that this is now a legend. Evenn RyanAir would have shown more understanding. No they are just monsters of selfishness carelessness, hypocrisy, greed company, with no remorse, no principles, and no respect, except for their only purpose: stealing your money.

#emiratesworstcompanyintheworld
#emiratesworstcompany
#emiratesworstairlineintheworld
#emiratesworstairlinei
#emiratesdontcare
#neverflyemirates
#emiratesworstrip
#avoidemirates

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank beejay203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We always compare prices of all airlines and Emirates was the best deal.
This is the first time I have flown with Emirates and I must say the experience was great. Flying in the A380 was marvellous, very comfortable seats with a bit more leg room. The cabin crew were very professional and friendly. The food was the best I have ever had on an flight. The amount of entertainment choice was amazing. All the children got kiddie packs and had there photos taken with an instamatic camera and were given the photo in a lovely card signed by a cabin crew member. All in all a most enjoyable flight, I can see why they have again been voted best airline. If you get the chance go with Emirates.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The boarding operations were smooth and fast, the seats very comfortable, the exceptional entertainment (movies, games, flight panoramas), the tasteful food and drinks.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Gaida O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC