We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short distance trip ”
Review of Croatia Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled from Vienna to Zagreb and Zagreb to Dubrovink one a hour flight each.

Flight with Croatia Airlines - DHC-8-402Q Dash 8 on a calm day no turbulence

Negative the noise and vibration coming from the engines so avoid seats 6 to 12

Date of travel: November 2018
Thank 959christosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being a frequent flyer, since ten years, and rather, because many times there was no alternative airline for the distance.

Its an ok airline, as long as things work as planned, and as scheduled.
They normally fly Q400 Dash 8 (Bombardier), which is a slow, but safe, and good aircraft for short distances. They fly A319 as well on some routes.

Seats have relatively ok space.

Whatever food/bite they serve, sometimes those are a bit odd, but at least they make an effort.

They always have wine, beer on any international flight.

Step overs at Zagreb airport, normally are very smooth.

If you have a connecting flight in Zagreb from domestic to international, dont exit, but find to the right, the connecting flight direction (show boarding card for your next international flight), and pass though to passport control, and you avoid another security control. When you arrive with an international flight, and have a domestic connection, normally you must first exit, and then pass security again. This, unless you have a short step over, or at delay, there will stand an airline representative (to your left) and let you through direct to the departure area.

Information at flight diversions (at times of heavy North wind, “Bura”) from Dubrovnik to Split (due to weather, and rather winter time) is generally not sufficient, sometimes non-existing. Rather, normally passengers are “wished a nice holiday”, with no explanation that the plane has landed plus 200 km away from the final destination. and the crew normally disappears fast.

There are relatively less backpack passengers, but as reminder, it is of course great, out of respect and curtesy to other travellers, to remove the back pack, or place on one shoulder (easier to control), when entering into shuttle and plane.

In the Q400 aircraft, the space for hand luggage above seats is very tiny, and they normally take off hand luggage on a trolley at the plane, prior to entering the plane, which one receives back, at exiting plane at destination, which is an acceptable, and smooth procedure.

The boarding procedure, can be pretty time consuming, which may also have its reason in its average passenger discipline…

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank MichaelH15168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid for business class flights from Dubrovnik to Zagreb. It was hectic in the gate area around the time we should have been boarding with masses of people huddled near the entrance to the jetway. There were no announcements about the delay.

Although the gate staff announced that business class boarding was first, people just pushed in mass to go down the jetway and the Croatia Airlines staff did nothing about it. I have never seen anything like it. One would wonder just how secure that experience is.

Business class on this flight was a joke. There was nothing different about the uncomfortable, closely spaced 3/3 seats. They even put people in the middle seats in business class which they were not suppose to do. The guy behind us was assigned a middle seat and boy was he angry. The flight attendant said something to the effect that the flight was full and they had to fill all the seats. Thank goodness this was a very short flight.

I do want to compliment that flight attendants who were very friendly and managed to serve us a nice snack during a flight that was less than an hour.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is by far the worst customer service I've ever experienced on any flight, rude air stewardess's and around terrible service.
Certainly won't use or recommend this airline ever. Shame I had to give 1 star really.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank jkdafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We flew from Brussels to Pula with Croatian Airlines and all was ok. Not the most comfortable seats but nice staff and small boxes with biscotti and yoghurt. Nice snack!
However, when flying home again, we were stranded in Zagreb in 5 hours. No information until 30 minutes after departure time (AM 9.00). We hade to go out of transit hall and to the airline desk. We received a voucher for 70 Kuna (8 EUR) for food, and info that a flight is scheduled for PM 2.00. No reason.
Information is so important to have satisfied customers. And since we had to run to our connecting flight in Frankfurt (no help from airline company to transport us to connecting flight, and Frankfurt is a BIG airport), the 8 eur snack we could buy in Zagreb was not satisfying. Hungry and swetty we at least managed to catch the flight to Sweden, not thanks to Croatian airlines but to our own legs!! :)

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Ece L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC