We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing airline & great overall experience”
Review of China Southern Airlines


Reviewed 12 June 2024

Was a bit hesitant choosing China Southern due to reading all the mixed reviews however my partner & I decided to still go ahead considering the great price. Everything was above every expectation from the food to the service. We had a 10hr layover in Guangzhou which was a worry however if you go to the China Southern Business lounge on arrival you can pay to enter. It cost us $150 AUD (each) for 8hrs of use which was all inclusive. Food, Drinks, showers etc. Everything was top class. Arrived in Amsterdam on time no delays. We are actually so happy we chose China Southern. Saved an easy $1000 each compared to the other airlines.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Milos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (5,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 5,099 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2024

CHINA SOUTHERN is the most pathetic and Genuine Third Class Airlines. Stay Away!!!!

We were travelling to Asia from Australia and the entire journey had been really frustrating. China southern airlines don't provide assistance in situations like sudden cancellation of flight. We tried to reached out to service team at the airport office and the China southern online support to see if they can help or assist. Nobody actually there to help the customers.

We have wastes a whole day and our little 2 year old son got serious sick because of all the hassle we had to deal with.

Absolutely hopeless service!!!!!

Date of travel: April 2024
1  Thank Ocean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2024

First time on China Southern London to Manila via Guangdong, London flight to Guangdong was on a Dreamliner 787. Service was good and Flight Attendants were very attentive, food was better than average and much better than Etihad my previous airline of choice. Entertainment system had good a range of Hollywood films in English, the amenity kit for the 11 hour night flight was good.

The transfer was smooth at Guangdong and this is a nice airport with a few shops and reasonable priced places to eat plus an out of the way Starbucks.

Small plane A320 for onward journey to Manila but just over 2 hours, both flights departed and arrived on time, no issues with checked luggage.

Given price this was great value for money and actually a better experience than travelling with Etihad.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2024

Another fantastic flight with China Southern, I couldn’t fault them, great meals, service, very clean 787 plane . And I can take 46kgs in economy…for the price better than Singapore Airlines..

Date of travel: June 2024
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Dreadful first experience. Started with a woeful check in process on each of 4 flights and never really recovered. One trip is enough

Date of travel: June 2024
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.