We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”
Review of China Southern Airlines


Reviewed 9 June 2024

First time on China Southern London to Manila via Guangdong, London flight to Guangdong was on a Dreamliner 787. Service was good and Flight Attendants were very attentive, food was better than average and much better than Etihad my previous airline of choice. Entertainment system had good a range of Hollywood films in English, the amenity kit for the 11 hour night flight was good.

The transfer was smooth at Guangdong and this is a nice airport with a few shops and reasonable priced places to eat plus an out of the way Starbucks.

Small plane A320 for onward journey to Manila but just over 2 hours, both flights departed and arrived on time, no issues with checked luggage.

Given price this was great value for money and actually a better experience than travelling with Etihad.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (5,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 5,099 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2024

Another fantastic flight with China Southern, I couldn’t fault them, great meals, service, very clean 787 plane . And I can take 46kgs in economy…for the price better than Singapore Airlines..

Date of travel: June 2024
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Dreadful first experience. Started with a woeful check in process on each of 4 flights and never really recovered. One trip is enough

Date of travel: June 2024
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

After reading so many negative reviews I was really fearful about what to expect flying with China Southern. Espically as our trip had so many moving parts and connections. However for those on a budget, it worked great.

All of our flights ran on time and promptly and, with a short layover in China on our return leg (1hr 30), I was impressed that the ground staff fast tracked us through immigration and security without needing to ask. They looked at our boarding cards and prioritised us automatically (with the exception of giving us all a PCR which was a bit weird). I was also impressed that on all our complicated legs the baggage was checked through and delivered promptly with no issues - on short layovers they lacked it as such so ground staff could prioritise.

Timings - flights and baggage on time, swift processing in airport (although they are trigger happy on multiple security and passport checks).

Plane - Ample leg room even on short journeys and nice Dreamliner plane. Pillow and blanket provided.

Entertainment - After reading reviews about the entertainment I was really worried there wouldn’t be a lot. However, there was 26 pages of popular UK/American movies and couple of TV shows. Granted the in flight entertainment isn’t as robust as some of the more upmarket carries but still does the job. E.g screen did crash a few times, no live tv streams, limited music, games, movies were from the last few years but not newest releases. This didn’t bother us much as a lot of these things were a ‘nice to have’.

Food - we thought food was tasty, although we could have done with an additional snack. British cards don’t work in the Guanzjong airport so 2 meals on a 12hr flight was a little bit lacking. Drinks could have definetely be provided more frequently. There is also less choice than premium carried - coke, water, fruit juice, beer, wine, tea/coffee but this again didn’t bother us much.

Overall I’d say a good experience. Theres no bells and whistles but there’s enough to get you across the world in comfort and on a good budget. You get what you pay for and this was around £400pp less for our journey. I would fly again.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Terrible company, we booked a flight together, on bag check-in they put us on different seats and said there were no available seats to be together. After boarding there where at least 2-3 pair of seats where they could have put us together. I also saw a lot of couples in the same flight trying to change seats so they can be together. Terrible customer service.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Ioannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.