We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stingy”
Review of China Eastern Airlines


Reviewed 19 May 2024

Difficult to stay hydrated on the flight, when they give you a drink it is about half a small paper cup. Hard to understand what the food was they were offering i.e. omelet turned out to be scrambled egg and sausages. Long ques and slow check in at Gatwick but they were more efficient in Tokyo. Had to go through security (even though we were staying airside) in China which was a scary experience. Very bleak airport. No spirits on board, even to buy, all the drinks were warm. Everything done on a shoe string, I have flown many airlines this may the the worst even though nothing actually went wrong.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (5,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 5,294 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2024

everything was okay until halfway i started to get uncomfortable from the seat i’m seating in and people were blah blahing otherwise the others are good food movie is good the toilet was also good because it was clean

Date of travel: December 2023
1  Thank XIAOSONG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2024

Customer service at LA never answer. Call center doesn’t working. Google fly and real prices don’t match. Everything doubled price. Looks like a scam.

Date of travel: May 2024
1  Thank Denny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2024

We arrived at Sydney International Airport to take China Eastern Airlines flight MU0562 from Sydney to Beijing. But you need to transfer at Pudong Airport, flight MU5165 on March 4, 2024,

The trip I had been looking forward to for 4 years turned into a mess before I even left Sydney Airport. China Eastern Airlines began to massively dispatch more than 200 passengers to rush back and forth at Sydney Airport three times within two hours, because the boarding gate of MU0562 was changed three times, and the distance between the three gates was relatively far. Without notification, passengers are left to guess. Panicked passengers helped each other find the correct gate 37. Next, China Eastern Airlines informed everyone that the flight would be delayed for an hour and a half; at 13:30.

The plane arrived at Pudong Airport smoothly at 8 p.m. After getting off the plane, I quickly asked how to transfer to Beijing. The airport staff said nothing and used hand gestures to guide us to the border inspection. After entering the customs, the China Eastern Airlines staff easily told the passengers that the flight MU5165 to Beijing was cancelled. The news once again hit more than a hundred passengers.
When I asked where to wait for my connecting flight to Beijing, no one knew, and a staff member directed me to the street outside the airport. This person was by no means a kind person. China Eastern Airlines actually played tricks on passengers again within 10 hours.

After the passengers negotiated with China Eastern Airlines personnel for nearly 2 hours, China Eastern Airlines sent us to a hotel called Greenland around 12 o'clock in the night. After a long check-in and no food, the passengers could only go to bed hungry. Half of the passengers I could only rest for 2 hours, so I had to gather at 4 a.m. to go to Hongqiao Airport to wait for the 8 a.m. flight to Beijing.

China Eastern Airlines suddenly canceled the flight, causing me to miss the free cancellation period for the hotel I booked in Beijing. Passengers are like hostages kidnapped by China Eastern Airlines, with no choice and helplessness. A well-known giant state-owned enterprise, "China Eastern Airlines", had poor management.

Date of travel: February 2024
1  Thank P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2024

It was such a wonderful experience flying china eastern for the first time. Crew service was caring and good, food is good , spacious legroom, inflight entertainment (not all flight) and 27kg of checked in luggage all at super reasonable price. Will definitely use their flight again. Lucky i choose not to believe in fake negative reviews

Date of travel: May 2024
2  Thank Freedom58589008246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.