We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return journey even worse”
Review of British Airways


Reviewed 6 April 2018

Same old plane on the return journey. Instead of sparkling wine before take off it was water or orange juice. Screens small and fuzzy picture, food very uninspiring and having ordered vegetarian in advance I then found out that there was a better vegetarian option on the main menu. Asked to change and the stewardess said she had to check if she had enough meals before letting me have one. Waited 20 mins then gave up. She later apologized for forgetting. No room around the seats unlike Virgin premium economy and seats were not comfortable for sleeping. We couldn't really tell the difference between economy and premium to be honest. Breakfast was a cream cheese roll, cereal bar and coffee or tea but there were no stirrers available as " they were not loaded in boxes they usually use" . People behind us didn't get first choice of meal and couldn't stir their milk into their tea they were not impressed either. If there was another option to get to Tampa we wouldn't fly BA.

Date of travel: March 2018
1  Thank CMAB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,738 - 10,742 of 38,664 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Service is very good, and staff are friendly, helpful and cheerful. It was never any trouble to them when you make a request; they willingly take steps to provide whatever you have requested. The food was good (certainly better than other airlines we have flown with), on both the outbound flight and this one, our return flight. At Heathrow, the flight being full, we were upgraded to Business Class (having just had an operation, the extra comfort was very welcome!). The aeroplane (B787) is comfortable, and quiet. Overhead lockers are spacious. The Premium Economy seats were comfy (of course Business seats are even better!).
We have lounge access, and this is the first time that we have used the lounge in T5. It is spacious and comfortable. The food there is very good - and, again, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Even the cleaning lady, clearing tables etc, was lovely and cheerful.
The whole experience with BA, from check-in, through the staff in the lounge, to the flight crew, on all four flights that we did, was high class. We have already booked our next flight with them, and will have no hesitation in the future.
The only bad experience we had was on transfer in T5, but absolutely nothing at all to do with BA. Some (not all, I hasten to add) of the Security staff were overbearing, belittling, and downright obnoxiously rude (chatting and laughing with each other, but these four staff scowled at passengers). Don't expect that in the UK - we were most taken aback at the attitude. Last time I experienced that treatment of being spoken to like a naughty boy was when I was in kindergarten. They were busy, and we understand that there was pressure, but there was no need for the way the group of people we went through with were handled. By contrast, the security staff in Tegel were also very busy, but were happy, cheerful and smiling – every single one of them.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank raybD9545ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The overnight flight was comfortable, I ate in the lounge prior to boarding. I could not get a business class flight at a reasonable price and opted for premium economy which was fine, the seat can be moved sufficiently to offer a good sleep.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

It was a reasonable flight. I find it difficult to get fully comfortable for sleeping. The food wasn't bad, but it would be better to chose before hand. The entertainment was good with lost of film, the only issue is that the choice of film doesn't change between two flights.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

BA is like Ryanair now. I resent paying extra to choose a seat in advance when this used to be included, and the chargeable trolley service is a bit of a joke! Wish BA had stayed classy and not lowered themselves to compete with lowcost.

Date of travel: April 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank rubia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC