We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airline”
Review of Avianca


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious lie-flat seat, great food, great entertainment, but still lag behind major airlines business class service.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank kiltmaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 15,541 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were suppose to fly tonight at 11pm and they cancelled the flight until tomorrow at 8:30pm? What kind of service is this? They should be ashamed of themselves. They only have a few tellers for so many people, a complete meltdown. Do yourselves a favor and book with a reputable airline.

Date of travel: January 2019
1  Thank garyj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called customer service talk for about 15 minutes and was put on hold for about 2 hours kept telling me Can you hold for 3 minutes. Each time it was about 20 minutes. They dont know what they are doing. Was was transfered so many times. They don't know anything. I for got to put my middle initial. I was told it would take 24 or less to change it been more than 48. I call talked to they for one hour they don't know nothing Asked for superviser. Was told he only talked spanish. Employee told me one thing superviser told me another story. The lie and have bad customer service. We never fly with the again. I would give 0 stars if I could.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Value for money
3  Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The seats were a little roomier than other airlines I’ve used. There was a good choice of films and TV. The map was okay but would have been nicer if interactive - I’d like a zoom option so we could see which town or village was out of the window. The vegetarian meal and the lactose free meal we had asked for were provided correctly. There was a facility on the plane for checking our connection which was easy to use. Staff were helpful. Overhead lockers were big enough.

Date of travel: December 2018
Thank Madeleine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Christmas holiday got off to the worst possible start when we tried to check in (early) in Barcelona.

We had an organised 2 week tour of Costa Rica ahead of us which we were understandably looking forward to immensely. However this required an Avianca transfer flight in Bogotá to San José (BCN-BOG-SJO) so we could stick to our not-inexpensive itinerary.

At check in we were told that the incoming flight to Barcelona was delayed by and hour and a half and that meant we would miss our connection to San José as ours was the last BOG-SJO flight of that day but that the airline would put us up in a hotel in Bogotá and we were checked on to the first BOG-SJO flight at 06.00 the next morning.

So far, so correct by the airline. What we didn't know was that after an 11hr flight, we'd have to queue in Bogotá without our bags (they'd been sent to San José), wait it a queue for about 2hrs at the Avianca Error Desk with hundreds of other people whose Christmas travel plans had been buggered up by Avianca's inefficiency.

Once we received our 'hotel and food' voucher from Avianca we had to deal with Immigration in BOG airport, security, customs, customs security and then we had to find where to go to get the shuttle bus to the hotel provided - nobody could clearly tell us exactly where we had to go - no Avianca employees directing flight victims - nothing.

We eventually went to bed in an Alan Partridge hotel close-ish to the airport at around 01.00 local time, which for us meant a lot more than 24hrs without sleep (if you can count sketchy plane-sleep minutes, while being disturbed by trolley-dollies when you don't need/want them or them going missing when you do as sleep).

As we'd been put on the first flight the following morning, we had to wake up at 03.00, have a very quick 'express - basic -breakfast' - leave Alan's hotel to get picked up by the inefficient shuttle bus in order that we got to BOG airport at 04.00 for the SJO flight a little after 06.00.

The BOG-SJO flight left on time, but arrived more than 30mins later due to 'wind' so we missed our rescheduled connection with the tour we'd paid for and looked forward to.

These clowns are inept and avoid them at all costs

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Mono_Jockos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC