We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service”
Review of Austrian Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On time, very good in flight service, friendly flight attendance however, seats are a bit tight but still somewhat comfortable.
Austrian Air offers special on board meals you can order ahead of your flight for €15. They have Cold and Hot Breakfast, Schnitzel, even Sushi total 9 selections. I ordered Tapas - see photo. Wine is free. It's a great option. Not all flights from US to Vienna have this offer. I believe only LA, Chicago and Newark.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank AKSW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 5,926 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don’t think I’ve reviewed an airline yet, but this was worth mentioning. Our flight to Germany with a different airline was delayed which had us landing minutes before our connection in Amsterdam, so the airline rebooked us for another flight 7 hours later. When flying from Austria to Sweden with Austrian Airlines, we had a connecting flight in Vienna and hour first flight was delayed as well. This time, the airline called ahead to notify the next flight of our arrival, a car met us at the plane, and whisked us away to the door of our next flight (and a few others racing to other flights). Now THAT is how an airline should handle internal delays. Bravo Austrian Airlines for such great service - and they were super kind in flight as well.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank ChaeAmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Self-help Kiosks do not cater for groups very well, especially with multiple travellers on one ticket in the midst of a very busy check-in area.
Self-help Kiosks do not cater for connecting partner airlines like Thai Airways who have 30kg allowance, and you could be easily shoved-off to pay excess fees if you did not know your rights.
The check-in staff from Austrian Airways were EXTREMELY helpful, both with the self-help kiosks and the excess baggage, once they recognised our tickets from Brisbane.
I think all airlines should provide group service, for 10+ passengers, it should just be part of the deal for all stakeholders.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Ric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish more airlines would be like AUSTRIAN.

The service was genuinely friendly -- all the way!

Check-in, seating, luggage stowing in an Embraer E95, and the service. You can hardly expect more to make you feel good than AUSTRIAN!

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Cosmopolitus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Service on Board .Very good food ! Even fresh cooking on Board Comfortable Sleeping ! Good entertainment Movies! Very friendly Stewardess and Stewards!

Date of travel: December 2018
Thank Otrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC