We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 16 April 2024

Worst airline I've been on. Only airline I've used that forced me to check my carry on bag. Did this on both flights when the overhead bins were clearly not even close to full. 1st flight sat on runway for an hour before leaving causing a near missed connection. Flight attendant was nice but literally said AA doesn't care about its customers any more. I'll use another carrier for my business travel. I purposely bring carry on only because I'm usually in a hurry. AA will be a last resort from now on!

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (79,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 833 of 79,686 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2024

They changed my return flight from landing at 11:57 am to 10:38 pm
I was not aware I could get a refund if they “modify” your trip more than 4 hours, so now I hope you are aware. They do not tell you and do not offer the refund.

So I changed the trip losing 2 days to get back early enough to go to work. The. Decided to cancel.
Because I changed it- trying to work around their time change- they are now holding my money hostage in the form of a credit and will not refund me.
And now I won’t trust the times they set when I do get to spend my own money on their flights in the future.

The customer service agent was hard, condescending, and unkind. Yikes!

I recently flew Frontier and all was perfect.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Customer service
Thank AMR-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

The flight was very smooth. There was good legroom, snacks, outlets to charge phones, although not all worked, and they offer free movies.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Third time in 2 months AA did not do well. This past weekend I flew from fort Lauderdale to Burlington Vermont. My connecting flight was in NC. My flight from ft Lauderdale to NC was delayed, I missed my connecting flight because of AA issues and had to over night in NC. AA declined reimbursement for my overnight stay in NC saying it was a weather issue when clearly there were no weather issues it was a bright sunny day out. Fast forward from NC to Vermont they did not load my luggage and that was also an inconvenience. I received my luggage this morning, and I did not have any of my necessities. Will never fly AA, lesson learned I will be consistent with United, which has much better customer service!

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Roneisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2024

AA marketing modified their Advantage program to add "Loyalty Points" which are now the basis for determining your status (gold, platinum...) and also revised to qualification period to March 1 to Feb 28 of following year. They did this in January 2023 but they have been unable to determine and apply the "loyalty points for split period purchases on their Advantage credit cards where purchases made after March 1, 2024 should be ascribed to 2024 qualifying status. I called the customer service line and after 45 minutes of prompts and hold time a barely understandable rep in the Philippines told me they were a month behind!!!!! Well it has been a month and no points posted!!!
This is another indication that AA is poorly administered and managed. I would expect that if a company has 12 months to implement a simple date change that they would be able to get it right!!! Not so with AA--they blew it again!!!

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Customer service
1  Thank jaybeeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.