We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Experience”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 19 November 2018

Everything was professional, organized, and on-time. The seating was tight BUT not sardine tight. Unless you want to spring for first class, it was about as good as you could expect.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Flyer15493313461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,844 - 3,848 of 52,418 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2018

The airlines say to get to the airport 2 hours before flight time. We did, but the ticket counter wasn't opened until about an hour later. What's worse is that TSA wasn't present to inspect the checked baggage...we were supposed to just leave it in their little area...unattended! The flights were average for American and the transfer in DFW was without incident. The crew on flight 1290 from DFW to PHL was pleasant and attentive. There were not glaring negatives to report...just an okay trip.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank RicWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

The plane left Miami one hour later after a gate change - we had to do a lot of running from gate to gate. Once we boarded we still sat for another 30 minutes. Trip was smooth with only mild turbulence. The plane was full - not a free seat in sight. All the carry on baggage fitted on without a problem. Staff were professional and efficient as expected.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Jo-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

This was my first time using American Airlines for quite a number of years. The experience was the worst I have ever had with any airline. They charge for everything, including the fact that I was reticketed and had to find a seat. Only problem was that the seat that was left, (whole plane) was an upgrade and had to spring for that. Since I was no longer business/first class, had to pay for first bags. No entertainment on flights. You can use your phone and their network, as long as you know to download their app before getting on plane. Then there was the 2.5 hr delay, AA fault, coming back that literally got to connecting flight as gate was closing.

American Airlines has forgotten where they came from. They are for customers and without them, they are out of business, and maybe they should be shown that direction. I will try to book any other airline next time and not use American Airline again. Suggest any passenger look at big picture, not just the least cost.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

We started our trip on American Airlines to Bermuda. Although it is a very short trip, around two hours the plane was ON TIME. The flight was smooth and the crew was very attentive. We arrived safely at our destination and was very excited to start our vacation.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC