We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights out!”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

check in was great...the airlines has someone on the floor assisting with the kiosks...very nice gentlemen...tsa was quick and easy...the mob of folk waiting to board took quite some time...and then while we were strapping in....boom!...the lights went out on the plane...after a few minutes wait we were told we had to disembark and wait for the repair to be completed....about 30 minutes later we began the boarding process again......much prayer was offered up on that take off!...but despite the delay the pilots got us in safely and almost 30 minutes ahead of schedule

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank phillyborn114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 864 of 48,806 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

for the first time ever i was on a flight that had to land at the nearest airport due to mechanical difficulties. unfortunately this meant turning around and heading home. But by the time we were off the plane i had an email about a replacement flight and the on ground crew were great at directing me to alternatives that only lost me 3 hours. Flights were smooth and painless

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After spending shy of £2000 for our 2 returning flights for my husband and I to see how son at his university in NC, after return flight home was a nightmare.
We were suppose to be flying at 6pm, which then had a 30 min delay, we got on the plane , after 20 mins to be told we had to disembark as a technical fault. We got off and told we had to wait another 2 hours .... the airport was closing up for the night, so not a lot to do. Any way it ended up a 5 hour delay only to be offered bottled water and a bag of crisps or cereal bar. Got on plane, only a pasta dish available. It was an awful flight.
We wrote to AA as we were told that after so many hours you could get compensation. AA only offered us e vouchers worth $200, which i feel was insulting. We have saved for a year to go and we wont be able to afford this for at least a few years time. They told us we had to use this offer within 12 months.
This is a joke. Why would they do this to keep customers??????

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank brooks2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Early A.M. departure one stop connection through Sky Harbor in Phoenix. Long walk between arrival and departure gates as the people movers in Phoenix where not working but a little exercise never hurts. International flights depart via the A gates after arriving into the C gates.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Z2610MYrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff, but very tight seating , no movies and unless we pre ordered a meal, there was nothing to buy, Bathrooms were clean, pilots were awesome.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC