We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to Go”
Review of Air New Zealand


Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

Air New Zealand made the 9 hour flight from Honolulu to Melbourne comfortable and very pleasant. We got the Works with our economy fare so we received 2 meals during the 9 hour flights. Leg room is generous in most seats and my tall husband found several seats on the plane that accommodate his height, not just the exit row. Friendly helpful service, conscientious of keeping passengers hydrated, on time departures and arrivals made the best of the 9 hour flights.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank 264lynnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (14,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 950 of 14,056 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2020

I recently flew Air New Zealand for the first time in decades from Perth to Queenstown return via Auckland, and was extremely impressed. The cabin fitout was very sleek and smart on both the 777 and A320, and I was blown away by how comfortable and roomy the economy seats were. So much leg space in front, and such wide seats, so lots of space either side too - and this was both on the double-aisle and single-aisle flights.

Cabin crew were all professional and friendly, without being over the top. Didn't bustle around unnecessarily, but at the same time were there when you needed them, and came down the aisles several times serving water and refreshments (even for those of us who had not paid for a meal). I also loved the little lollies they gave out at the end of each flight - a nice touch and very yummy! Announcements were always clear and concise. IFE was excellent - a good variety of programmes and music.

If you are arriving into Auckland on an international flight and then transferring to a domestic flight within NZ, Auckland airport can be a little bit of a shambles, especially if you are doing it for the first time, as I was. Basically you have to clear immigration, collect your bags and then figure out where to go, as signposting is not very clear at all. If you have enough time, you can drop your bags off in Zone B at the international terminal where you arrive, or if not, head straight to the domestic terminal (there is a shuttle bus every 15 min or otherwise it's about a 5-7-minute walk following a green line to the domestic terminal) and drop your bags off there. I did my bag drop in Zone B at the international terminal but I had to ask a staff member as it was very confusing, and I had quite a tight connection so it was a bit stressful.

Apart from that though, the airline itself and my experience as a passenger onboard was outstanding - it well exceeded my expectations. Their online mobile check-in worked perfectly, and I also used their 24/7 chat on Twitter and received prompt help with my pre-flight query. Very pleased all round, and would certainly never hesitate to use Air NZ again. Thank you!

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Loquita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

December 31, 2019, the last day of the year ... we fly in to Sydney for a one-week holiday. Despite being a short-haul flight, Air New Zealand were perfectly on time and made us arrive comfortably in Sydney on time and on the last day of the year. They provided great service both on ground and during the flight as usual, very welcoming and friendly staff. (NZ 711)Thank you.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank demirbashcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2020

If I ever do it again I would reschedule to AVOID going thru Brisbane International !
Yes Norfolk is 'Australia', but you find you must depart via and International terminal.
next time I will choose a day to fly direct from Sydney International terminal.

Once one is finally on board - it is 'just an economy flight' - no complaints - staff do their best ..but nothing to get excited about.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2020

I am not a parent and this was a first time flight for my nephews aged 3, 6, 7 and 8. The boys where nearly as excited about the bus trip, visiting Te Papa, staying in an apartment, and using escalators as the actual flying in the days leading up to the trip but it was definitely this first flight that they have all voted as their favourite. The ground and flight crew could not have been more helpful and friendly. The boys were all excited but one of them also ended up being a nervous flyer. The crew helped me settle him, and made the boys day by giving them first time flyer certs for being so good. After flying all these years it was so rewarding to see the joy of new flyers, and have the crew recognise it too.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.