We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - but only if screaming brats are not in neighbouring seats”
Review of Air New Zealand


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have flown this route on NZ 176 several times , using Business , Premium Economy and now Economy to establish the most cost effective alternative of the 6 hour ''Dreamliner" journey . My most recent was in Economy , and was a trip rendered positively hideous by the near incessant high volume. screaming of a child in the row behind me . Not Air NZ's fault , but a hazard thai is considerably diminished by travelling Business , or even Premium Economy ( both of which I have tried and quite enjoyed .
Ordinary Economy gives adequate legroom for my 185 cm , and adequate seat back recline . The single meal provided ( dinner ) was tasty and attractively presented . I was however disappointed by the fact that nothing whatsoever was offered for breakfast - not so much as a solitary cookie or plastic cup of coffee .
On balance I consider Premium Economy the best option . The full recline of Business seating is great , but the trip is too short to allow full enjoyment of this seating plus the meals, even if access to the recently opened ( and excellent ) Air NZ Perth Lounge is taken into account.
So I consider Premium Economy the best alternative , with slightly better legroom and seat back recline ..... PLUS the considerably reduced risk of travelling alongside an unsleeping and high decibel infant .

Date of travel: November 2018
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 9,711 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best thing about the direct flight to Houston is it's a much easier USA port to land in especially if you are like me and like to avoid Los Angeles. Houston airport is easy to navigate around too. The flight being sort of like an overnight one allowed for a decent sleep if you are able to sleep on a plane. It wasn't full on the way back and so I got the opportunity of utilising three seats to myself. They seem fine about doing this although one flight attendant was a bit snippy about it (I actually asked to move as my seat didn't recline; it did but me and the other attendant just weren't pushing it hard enough) but I noticed she was snippy at others too so it was likely to just be her. Anyway, it's a good flight even if a long haul one but seemed to not be so hard on the bod. Yay for direct flights!

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although only a short flight it was a very pleasant flight. There was plenty of leg room and the seats were comfortable with adjustable headrests. The toilets were clean and the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful too.

Date of travel: November 2018
Thank HMS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked economy but had a recognition upgrade to Nadi and successful with a one up bid on return flight. Not surprised that Air NZ premium economy is one of the best or best in the world. Attentive service, great seats, lovely food and wines. Surprisingly was upgraded to business class on return flight, magnificent experience.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This whole trip becomes a saga. It started months ago when I booked what looked like a suitable connection, leaving Blenheim around 10:00 am, a brief stopover in Wllington and arrival in Queenstown at 14:30. Some time later the Wellington-Queenstown flight was no longer available, an eight-hour stopover was the result of rebooking.
That flight tried to get into Queenstown but had to return to Wellington due to really lousy weather (kudos to the pilots). We were then told that they would issue blankets for passengers to stay overnight at the airport as Wellington hotels were full.
So I booked a room myself. Now of course they refuse to reimburse as the delay was due to weather. Fine, but why first lie to us saying there were no rooms?

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank P132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC