We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old horse still flies well”
Review of Air India


Reviewed 21 September 2018

I love flying Air India not because it is the National Carrier but because of the facilities AI provides which the private airliners do not provide. The baggage allowance is much higher, the food is decent (not great though) and the leg room in Y class is much more than the others. This flight that I took was on the brand new Airbus Neo which is a traveler's delight.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Araktim_Saikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 593 of 5,541 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Flew to and from Delhi on Air India. The flight was pleasant and the food better than most airlines, but the supervision was somewhat casual. Going out no one checked seatbelts and coming back passengers were using mobile phones during take off and landing and were not challenged. Hand luggage rules were also breached as to size and number. This is just an observation. Boarding going out was leisurely and efficient and both flights arrived early. The staff were pleasant especially on the outward journey. I enjoyed the experience and would use them again but they do need to keep passengers under tighter control in current times.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

I was going to give it 4 stars because of the aircraft comfort. I have always had problems with air in in various ways. This time I found the cabin crew especiall the male business class FA very rude. The rest of the staff was very uninviting to say the least. A registered person was not on the flight and they announced it for over a half hour making takeoff late. After being late for 15 minutes I would think they would realize he wasn't there.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank 123susan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Quite happy to see that Air India is finally improving. Recent flight on 15/09/2018 was on time, just behind schedule by 10 mins which is totally fine. The seat quality and comfort was also upto the mark. Staff was quite courteous. Looks like the national carrier is going to bring back its respect.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Nikesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

To start with, the whole schedule was changed, including travel date and we were informed by Air India via email 4 days before asking us to contact the call centre as our flight was cancelled. This actually had changed back in June and we found out coincidentally but Air India thought its ok to inform passengers just 4 days before (we can have no plans of our own, we are at the mercy of Air India).

Appalling service. The journey from Birmingham to Kolkata, screens didnt work and the cabin crew were so rushed that professionalism was out of the window.

On way back from Kolkata, we were not informed that the flight was domestic until Delhi, we left our home Kalyani at 2am to be there for International departure with 2 little ones half asleep. While checking in online our seats were changed!!! We were informed that the journey from domestic to international is very short and immigration would not take long but this is Delhi airport where there is no organisation!

The walk was long, the time was short and there was no help or assistance! The queue for immigration was so long and not a single staff was helpful. After speaking to 4 unhelpful people I had to put my foot down and get through via special assistance. No priority no management for people with infants. The left arm doesn't know what the right is doing, everyone busy shrugging responsibility.

On the flight, the faces and attitude the cabin crew had made me wonder if they are doing us a favour by serving. Is that a tack so people don't as for assistance? The screens and head phones barely work. The wait at Amristar was horrible and the snack served was pathetic. Although we requested child meal we were not offered and staff had no understanding of what I was explaining.

I chose Air India over Emirates due to the long wait in Dubai, its better to wait in Dubai then have such awful journey with yourselves!

Have given it a 4 for the few staff members that were a tad bit professional and the fact that we travelled safely to our destination.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Namrata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC