We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight ups and downs”
Review of Air Canada


Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Going on a Air Cananda Vacations trip taking Air Cananda flight was a unique experience. I was traveling with family and even with tons of time their flight never connected with ours and made it so they lost days of the vacation. We got to board early because we had children and they never gave us a chat about the safety with having kids and things. There routien conversation needed for all parents with kids in laps. They didnt have all bathrooms working and we were delayed an hour to the airport. All the way down.
On the way back they had bathrooms not working the floors were wet and more so no bags to put my kids diapers in. The way back the pilot when landing he went down in increments that made it hard for your ears to adjust. You get tons of shows and games to watch. You can pay extra for special food and booze. It has some perks and some down falls. Just depends on what you were looking for in the flights.

Date of travel: February 2019
1  Thank ADTCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 461 of 20,107 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently flew to Ft Lauderdale Florida on Air Canada Rouge. Picking up a seat sale on Black Friday for the return flight. The flight was on time going to Florida but an hour late returning due to a weather delay in Toronto. The entertainment was wifi to your own device or you could rent a tablet. You must though have the Air Canada app on your device before you leave on the flight otherwise you cannot get the programming supplied. The selection of newer movies was limited. On the way there the system malfunction and it has to be rebooted but still kept cutting out during play so I would not rely on their system for entertainment. Prebooking seats cost extra and checked baggage was extra as well as anything you wanted to eat on the flight. Other than those items the flight was uneventful. The service and staff were friendly enough. I would likely choose air Canada again for a flight to Florida provided the price was reasonable compared to the competitors. There was nothing outstanding about the flight that I would consider it above a competitor flight.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank retlawv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked our flight from Toronto to Fort Lauderdale with a stop over in Montreal. The flight leaving Toronto was late and this was never explained to us. Air Canada thankfully provided a ride to the Connections portal, but things went downhill from there. It took over 15 minutes to clear our bags, then another 40 minutes or more to clear both security and US Customs. Even though we explained to the security officer that we had to catch a connecting flight, no effort was made to advance or bump us in the line. Suffice to say, we missed the connecting flight and were directed to customer service. There, the two agents did their best to re-book our flights. Initially their efforts were futile as there were no flights in the next 24 hours into any of the Florida airports. Thankfully, a pilot in the line suggested that they re-route us through Atlanta, which worked our well: we were able to reach Fort Lauderdale the next day by 1 pm. They customer service team did their best to accommodate us (there were 10 of us in this situation), arranging for a complimentary overnight stay at the Hilton Garden Inn including meal vouchers at the hotel, plus $35 each in meal vouchers for the airport, where we enjoyed a lovely meal at Hurleys à YU. The customer service staff remained calm and were very diligent in assisting us, lessening the ire created by the change in plans.

In addition, the flight attendants during our flights to Montreal and back from Fort Lauderdale seemed less than interested in serving the travelers. I was not offered refreshments on either flight, and when I requested a coffee, I was told I could go to the back of the plane and get one if I liked. I found this rude and dismissive. I was actually glad to fly with Delta Airlines during the re-booking, where their staff were genuinely friendly, going out of their way to welcome travelers and provide refreshments. Delta had free movies with built-in screens and outlets to charge devices - all which were absent on the Air Canada Flights. Small things make a big difference and Air Canada could definitely improve in its communications and inflight service.

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank LNC1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You guys are pathetic. Every single flight is delayed , even the cheap airlines in Asia makes better buck for a flight than air Canada. You guys a just plain disgusting. West Jet all the way will never spend a cent for air Canada again!

Date of travel: February 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank ChiliBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite having arrived from MCO to YYZ earlier than originally scheduled, we were greeted by the unfriendliest of staff at YYZ airport. After changing our gates, we anxiously awaited to get on board our final flight home to YWG. Upon boarding, we were directed to our seats and buckled up only to discover we had to wait to get fuel. After 2+ hour delay, we finally got fueled, but lost our Ramp Crew so another delay to take off. A delay in flight is acceptable, and a lot easier to handle when in the comfort of an airport where you can walk around and stretch your legs, but being stuck inside your aircraft with no beverage or food service was horrible. Instead of arriving early in the afternoon, we arrived in the evening. We lost our pick up service and had to scramble to make last minute arrangements. The pilot was amazing, but the crew not so much...Disappointed.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Customer service
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC