We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with some redeeming qualities ”
Review of Air Canada


Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booking was easy enough, airport is fine. AC can’t be blamed for the typical over eager passengers who don’t realise that plane won’t leave without them and therefore crowd the boarding queues so that the lines for the zones become indistinguishable - however when boarding the return flight from
Sydney they clearly announced that all zones would now be boarding causing EVERYBODY to get up. And THEN went along the line calling for priority passengers such as families with children. This was somewhat of a joke. We were annoyed that the first meal options on the return flight were chicken and fish - being seated in the rear our only option became fish. I am not a fussy eater but I do hate fish but never feel it necessary to state when booking because what airline serves fish other than for those with particular requirements? However our hostess sympathized, apologized and brought us more salad and bread from the leftover trays at the end and came back to ensure we had first pick of the breakfast options. It was the best she could do and we appreciated her attempts to salvage the situation. On our outbound flight we occasionally had to seek out more water to keep hydrated but didn’t mind a reason to get up and walk around, while on the returning flight we appreciated that cabin crew consistently walked the aisles offering the water. Cabin space in economy is extremely cramped, planes are older but refurbished with modern trimmings and in seat entertainment.
We can’t complain to much for having gotten the $1200 return sale fare, but I’d have been much more annoyed if I’d paid the regular rate for the fare with the overall inconsistencies. Having walked through the premium economy sections - I would be upset for anybody who paid an additional $1000 for those tickets as the seats hardly looked much bigger and the arm rests appeared to be those that you cannot move up if you are a couple.
I would likely still travel again if the price is right, I’d be cautious who I recommended to depending on who was asking.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank 167alenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 18,281 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Air Canada. Wow what an airline company. The food and drinks was as good as a five star restaurant. The service and flight crew was absolutely fantastic.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank barrymcintyre101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Generally a good experience on this flight. We did have access to the AC lounge and this makes for an improved experience. All went well until on the plane and buttoned up... another flights hydraulics failed on the runway and that delayed us an hour. However, the Pilot was accurate in his early statements however, which always offsets the frustration. We had to re-book this return flight in order to stay in UK for a Sisters untimely funeral. A sad situation, but handled professionally by AC staff on line... much appreciated.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank mikehall2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I flew on Air Canada in November 2018. The booking process was simply on their app. The check in process went smooth at the kiosk in Newark Liberty Airport. The flight left on time, and arrived on time. The stewardess was very nice. And the price of the flight was just right. I would highly recommend this airline.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank thatdude330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was Ok but not really much more room. We wold ahve been better on exit row.
I was with a handicapped person and getting in and out was not easy. Also the staff were not very helpful. Food was tolerable. And what's with the wine. Only one bottle per meal. Come on ...

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank jen9240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC