We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent small airline”
Review of Pacific Coastal Airlines


Reviewed 29 October 2018

When you arrive to book in, be sure you have the exact weight allowed in your bags. We stood there taking out three pounds (out of 50 allowable lbs and transferring into another bag), then after weighing again, we needed to take one item out of a bag and put it into another bag. We weren't the only ones shuffling the items from bag to bag. At the end of the day, we went on with every item we had bought to the airport as we had the total allowable weight.
It was a smaller plane than I was used to, so you could feel the bumps. There was one stewardess for the whole plane, but things went smoothly. Landed in Port Hardy with no problems.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Chose this airline for several reasons: time of flight, direct route, price and price. Was not sure if the smaller plane would be a comfortable flight but it was fine. The aircraft is smaller so it only has a row down each side of the plane and no service is provided during the short one hour flight. Not a big deal as once you are ready to board you’re provided with a fresh choice of Timmy’s muffin and a bottle of water if you’d like as well as a paper, so better than the big airlines, really. Crew was great. Cart outside to put your larger carry-on in and away you go! Would recommend this airline and route for a direct flight to Victoria for sure.

Date of travel: October 2018
Thank DonnamjCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

The only scheduled airline to Bella Bella, which has no road access, this is the quickest, most convenient way to get there. The aircraft was well maintained, the crew was professional and courteous, and the airport staff both at Victoria and Bella Bella were friendly and helpful.

Bella Bella, being a small, isolated community accessible only by water and air, the staff were friendly, casual and got the job done without the stuffiness of big-city airports. Indeed, when leaving ZEL airport it was one of the agent's birthday so "happy birthday" was sung.

Many travelers in the summer come for the amazing fishing and nature experiences of the area; I recommend leaving your attitude and parking your high-pressure expectations and enjoy the opportunity to unwind.

The airport offers free wifi otherwise there is very limited public Internet access - be prepared to be disconnected and be tech-free; it's a wonderful experience!

Pacific Coastal provides direct service from Vancouver's South Terminal to Bella Bella; the return flight stops for a short period in Port Hardy but I didn't deplane.

Bella Bella is an unsecured airport so if you are connecting to another flight in Vancouver, including a connecting Pacific Coastal flight, you have to clear security before continuing your journey (I had to do this on my return to Victoria). This process was easy and fast, just kind of a hassle - be prepared.

Pacific Coastal (airline code 8P) uses Vancouver Airport South Terminal. This small facility is very easy to navigate and has a complimentary shuttle to Vancouver International Airport (YVR). It has no covered walkways from the tarmac to be prepared in damp weather.

The flight was breathtaking with gorgeous views of the water, rugged coastline, and green - so much green! Even in winter!

If you book early you can get a reasonably priced ticket. There is no seat selection: going up there were 30 seats, coming back 19 seats. The flight is noisy so bring earplugs or noise-canceling headset. There is no in-flight entertainment; bring your own

Pacific Coastal Airlines travels to many locations without airport security: you will have to clear security before continuing on to a connecting flight.

Food and beverage service what you'd expected on a small aircraft - I rated it "poor" because there's no "not applicable" option. Snacks provided were fine, though.

Enjoy the gorgeous scenery and friendly, casual service on your Pacific Coastal Airlines flight...I know I did.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank cigd70072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Let's see....my flight was at 4:30pm and I arrived late to the South Terminal at 4:20pm due to a reduced shuttle service between terminals; the flight had boarded (gone past security and heading to the plane), I pleaded with the 4 service counter agents to ask the pilot if I could please board (not many flights between Powell River and Vancouver) and no attempted to assist me; all I got was our policy statement. Of course it cost me an additional $100 to change flights.
Did the next flight follow boarding policy? Of course not, the 6:00pm flight boarded at 5:55pm with no delays or other considerations.
Too bad there isn't any competition.....

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alohakane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Views from Vancouver to Bella Bella were spectacular. Return flight was cancelled on return date. I had no accommodation in Bella Bella so had to travel back to the Spirit Bear lodge in Klemtu 90 minutes by boat for overnight then return the next day to the Bella Bella airport. The flight was delayed a full day after a supplementary flight was put in place for passengers coming out of Vancouver and departing Bella Bella. Staff in Bella Bella provided information when it was available. A snack and beverage were provided in Bella Bella. The Bella Bella airport does not have public Wifi so contact with those waiting for me in Vancouver was limited in my case.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank cdb15427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC