We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Short Hiking in Sinaia and Busteni

Sant Cugat del...
Level Contributor
13 posts
14 reviews
10 helpful votes
Short Hiking in Sinaia and Busteni
Save

Hi,

I will be spending a couple of days in Sinaia and Busteni next week and would like to do some small hikes, nothing difficult since I have no great hiking experience. I am thinking about one day in the Bucegi mountains (going up with cable car and doing some trails up there) and one in Sinaia (close to the castle). Are there trails like this for short hikes? Any nice tips? Thank you!

6 replies to this topic
Bucharest, Romania
Destination Expert
for Bucharest, Brasov
Level Contributor
10,404 posts
1. Re: Short Hiking in Sinaia and Busteni
Save

Yes, there are trails for any experience level.

Get a paper map from Sinaia.

Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
77 posts
58 reviews
24 helpful votes
2. Re: Short Hiking in Sinaia and Busteni
Save

Hey Maria,

Your idea is good and the plan is simple and nice. Yes, you can get the cable car and once up at Babele you can go to the picks around: Omu, Caraiman etc. Although the distances might seem great (2-4km), the trails are very easy and there wont be much climbing going on. You can do any of them in less than 2 hours.

From Busteni you can also follow the trail going to Urlatoarea waterfall (it goes from the cable car straight into the forest), a trail that wont require too much training or experience (many old people and kids go there) and instead of returning to the cable car you can continue following the trail to Poiana Tapului (from where you can get the train to Sinaia) or directly to Sinaia. You will arrive at the Peles Castle and is better to go from Busteni to Sinaia than the other way around because you will descend more.

Have a nice trip!