We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My Non-Planning Husband wants to go to Yosemite

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert
for Santa Fe, Mesa Verde National Park, Boulder, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22,158 posts
56 reviews
Save Topic
My Non-Planning Husband wants to go to Yosemite

And the only time we can get away from our small business is around July 4th! Akkkk, he does not know the difficulty of this! We will be tent camping most of the time, possibly KOA cabins or a motel along the way, especially in the desert.

We have been to Yosemite before and know how much driving this plan is. But my husband never asks to go anywhere and this is his request. I'm a teacher so summer is the only time we can get away!

Here is what I have so far, any input on the RV Park/Campgrounds would be appreciated. I am looking multiple times a day for campsites inside Yosemite!

June 28-29 - Day 1 & 2 - Santa Fe to near Sequoia/Kings Canyon NP

June 30 - Lemon Cove Village RV Park near Sequoia. Will arrive late and leave early

July 1 - Sunset Campground Kings Canyon.

July 2 - Indian Flat RV/CG near El Portal

July 3 - Hodgdon Meadow CG reservation, the only one I can get so far!!!

July 4 - Mono Lake RV Park in Lee Vining. Reserved.

July 5+ Back toward home with some stops at Manzanar, Lone Pine etc.

23 replies to this topic
Extreme Northern...
Level Contributor
506 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: My Non-Planning Husband wants to go to Yosemite

This really doesn't give you any time in Yosemite. How about flying in to give yourselves more time? Definitely look at the Yosemite booking webpage for cancellations. I have had luck getting reservations in Yosemite valley as others cancel, but they don't usually open up until a week or two prior to travel.

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert