We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sharks,

Coshocton, Ohio
1 post
Sharks,

I've been coming to Topsail since 1992. There was a recent article in a Top Sail publication about a group catching sharks for tagging and release. My question is , why are these people (Geoff Rouser) allowed to do this at the beach where people are trying to relax and not be worried about their children. As far as I'm concerned the state of NC.should pass legislation to kill all sharks that swim on shore,and expose people to harm. Let the fisherman catch all they want. I understand there has to be a check and balance in the ecosystem per se. But to me my life or my families life is more impotant than all the sharks swimming in the sea. Thnak You

Greensboro, North...
Destination Expert
for Isle of Palms, Edisto Island, Charleston
Level Contributor
6,087 posts
13 reviews
1. Re: Sharks,

Wow.

I'm not sure the NC General Assembly will grant your wish.

Sharks are in the ocean all the time. Killing one will not protect you or your loved ones.

Level Contributor
1,140 posts
63 reviews
2. Re: Sharks,

The ocean needs apex predators. There is a lot we don't know about sharks. Check out this link

http://www.ocearch.org

A sand hole collapsing is bigger risk of death than shark attack.

cbsnews.com/news/…

Edited: 19 July 2016, 04:34
North Carolina
Level Contributor
2,297 posts
27 reviews
3. Re: Sharks,

<< As far as I'm concerned the state of NC.should pass legislation to kill all sharks that swim on shore>>

This makes my list of the five dumbest things I've ever read on TA. (And that's saying a lot).

4. Re: Sharks,

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This post has been removed at the author's request. The author may post again if desired.