We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Just moved

Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
42 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Just moved

Just moved to Whittier and wondered about good restaurants, hair salons,parks, etc. in the area. I really like the Uptown area for restaurants and have heard good things about Artika Hair and Spa. Parks in Whittier don't seem to allow pets, so I have to go to La Mirada. Any off the beaten path fun things to do?

Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
699 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Just moved

Howdy neighbor!

I've been a Whittier resident for most of my life so welcome!

If you like Italian food, there are some really good ones on Whittier Blvd. between Colima and Beach Blvd. in La Habra. There is one in particular that I especially like, but I can't think of the name right now. :-( It's next to a Thai restaurant in a tiny strip mall and near the corner of Valley Home.

A restaurant in Uptown Whittier that I strongly recommend if you like Southeast Asian food or if you're curious about that food is Golden Triangle restaurant on Greenleaf just south of Philadelphia St. They have coconut rice to die for! and the battered corn is also tasty. As a vegetarian, I limit myself to the vegetarian selections and can't recommend meat of fish dishes. But I really like the Tofu Delight and the Thai Pudding for dessert is filling and very unique. Their ice creams are great in hot weather (the mango flavor is my favorite!).

The Crepes and Grapes restaurant on the corner of Greenleaf and Bailey in Uptown Whittier is excellent as well.

There is a very popular Farmers Market every Wednesday night in Uptown Whittier (on Greenleaf) as well.

Mentioned in this post
Golden Triangle
Golden Triangle
59 Reviews
Beverly Hills, CA
Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
42 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply