We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

4wd roads around Dominical

Annapolis, Maryland
2 posts
Save Topic
4wd roads around Dominical

I'm curious what sort of 4wd adventures are possible near dominical. I'm renting a Jimny (or maybe a hilux) and will be driving from Arenal down to Dominical and would like to drive some tracks down that way.

I'm a fairly experienced off-road driver looking to get off the beaten path a bit and see some neat stuff.

Thanks

Slovenia
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16,781 posts
60 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 4wd roads around Dominical

Stick to the Jimmy! The Hilux is just too big of a truck for Ticolandia's narrow roads.

The true off-road driving is #1 not permitted and not insured by the rental car company and #2 not allowed by the land owners. Thus you will need to stick to the public roads. luckily some of these will be a worthy opponent to your driving skills!

Basically, just start driving up the hill and see where the roads will lead you. But be sure to remember the way in order to be able to get back (a GPS in Tracking Mode is an useful tool). One of very scenic drives I have made was up to Rancho Tranquillo close to El Diamante waterfall. Even driving to some lodges and restaurants in the hills between Dominical and Ojochal can be a challenge per se.

Not an off road but extremely scenic drive is the very early morning drive from Dominical towards San Isidro and further on PanAm Hwy and at KM 80 down to the San Gerardo de Dota.

You have not said which month but if in dry season, try reaching Drake Bay! A few rivers to be forded (again, all insurances are null and void if you get stuck in the river). Best if you will do an overnight at DB.

Hopefully others will chime in with their suggestions (Sonnysullivan, costaricaguide, ...).