We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Teaching English in Siem Reap

Which Siem Reap hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 posts
58 reviews
Save Topic
Teaching English in Siem Reap

Hi, I am currently studying a Diploma in TESOL and have my heart set on teaching English in Siem Reap next year. I have googled schools in SR, but there doesn't appear to be a comprehensive list of schools (not surprising) apart from International schools. I would prefer to work in general/public schools for minimal wage. Can anyone suggest, from experience, schools you have enjoyed teaching in.

Cheers, Lyn

sydney
Destination Expert
for Cambodia
Level Contributor
17,811 posts
81 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Teaching English in Siem Reap

contact the Pohneary Ly foundation. they do amazing work! highly recommended. check them out at www.theplf.org and then google Pohneary Ly as a CNN Hero - they did a piece on her last year. she is one amazing woman!

I visited one of the 'international schools last year with a child we sponsor & her father and was apalled at the methodology I saw. I am a high school teacher in Aussie, but originally trained as a primary teacher. PM me if you need more info. (click on the 'blue' link on my profile name and then down the left you'll see 'send a message') - as a newbie you may not have got round to finding all the features of this site.

good luck

cheers

helen

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
1,522 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Teaching English in Siem Reap