We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Going to South Africa in February or March 2014

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Going to South Africa in February or March 2014

Hi everyone,

I am an avid traveler and recently became hooked on to tripadvisor. I see that most of you give the best advise! This is my first time asking a question and I appreciate everyone's help/advise :-)

I am planning to go to South Africa for about 10 days in February or March 2014. I want to land in Cape Town and spend a few days there. Other than that, I would like to go to Durban and Johannesburg. I definitely want to go on a safari as well. I am willing to stay at hostels or B&B's. I would prefer not to drive and use public transportation.

Now, my questions -

Can I squueze in 3 places in 10 days?

Is public transportation safe and reliable? Any websites that I can look up their schedules and routes?

What is the best way to travel to Kruger Park?

Thank you all again for your help :)

P.S. This will be my first time in Africa and I am looking forward to it!!

Mumbai (Bombay...
Level Contributor
923 posts
110 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Going to South Africa in February or March 2014

Hi Dev, for 10 days it is lot..Ideally you should spend 5 days in Ct, 4 days on garden route, 4 days in Kruger and a day or 2 in Joburg. So visiting Durban on top of it is impossible. In 10 days either you can do CT, garden route and a day in joburg. Or you can do Ct with Kruger for 10 days. But if you use public transportation in Kruger it will very expensive.

Regards,

Kavita

Edited: 26 September 2013, 14:13
Cape Town
5 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Going to South Africa in February or March 2014

Hello Dev

Well i must say you will absolutely enjoy your 10 days in South Africa.