We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belize or Honduras?

Dallas, Texas
2 posts
Save Topic
Belize or Honduras?

Highly confused between Belize and Honduras. Honduras was not in my list initially but it looks like a nice place for some diving and snorkeling. Is there much to do in the country for 7 days? I am looking at travel warnings and am confused. ( I am new to tripadvisor so if this is a repeat post, sorry).

4 replies to this topic
The Dalles, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Guatemala, Belize
Level Contributor
13,526 posts
331 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Belize or Honduras?

Both great destinations for diving and snorkeling but really different. Easy for me to fill 7 days with diving and relaxing. If you're wanting add'l activities - cultural and/or outdoor adventures off the water, they're easier to get to in Belize which is very compact and has a huge diversity of cultures and incredible caving and access to Maya sites. In each country the mainlands don't offer much in the way of snorkeling - you have long boat trips to get to the reef. The northern cayes of Belize are very near the reef and y ou have access to atolls as well, but the beaches aren't quite as pretty and diving is considerably more expensive, pretty much double. Across from the islands of Roatán and Utila there are cool mountain places for kayaking, rafting, horse trips, and waterfall hikes - we love Omega Lodge there. Copán has beautiful Maya sites and more but is more of a challenge to get to from Roatán (for example): flight to San Pedro Sula and ~3.5 hours by road or water taxi and ~7 hours by road.

My photos with blog links on the main page of each collection are below in case you're interested - all my recommendations are embedded there. Happy trails!

flickr.com/photos/staceyholeman/collections

Dallas, Texas
2 posts