We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Has anyone else had a Bad Experience with Solid Car Rental

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Has anyone else had a Bad Experience with Solid Car Rental

I am a former resident of Costa Rica and thought I had experienced everything. My wife and i flew down last month to check on our property. We had some friend coming down the next week, so we rented a SUV to haul everyone around. I made a reservation with solid car rental because they had a good rate for an SUV. I called from my house here in fflorida to confirm that it would be available upon our late arrival around 11:30 p.m. and was assured that it would be. I also inquired about the additional insurance and was told it would be $20 per day the total for the trip i calculated would be around $325 When we arrived at the rental agency we were given a total of $455 i protested and said we talked with and agent earlier in the day, They asked for a name which I did not get because I thought they all worked for the same company. Being late at night and probably impossible to find an SUV at another agency at midnight. My wife and I being old and tired gave in. I feel that Solid Car Rental are a dishonest business and would not do business with them again

Mentioned in this post
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Central America
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
#1 of 47 hotels in Manuel Antonio
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 hotels in Manuel Antonio
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
6 replies to this topic
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8,036 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Has anyone else had a Bad Experience with Solid Car Rental